Publication information - Researcher's guide to responsible and open science - Oppaat

Adding publication information to TUNICRIS

All Tampere University and Tampere University Hospital (Tays) publications are recorded in TUNICRIS. The library verifies all publication information after which the information becomes visible in TUNICRIS public portal.

New publication information for Tampere University is imported into TUNICRIS e.g. by harvesting from WoS, Scopus, and PubMed databases using automated searches. However, not all publications (e.g. publications in Finnish and many conference proceedings) appear in these databases, which is why researchers must manually upload to TUNICRIS all publications that cannot be automatically imported. The researcher can also change and supplement the information in the publications imported by the library.

Before uploading a publication, first use the TUNICRIS search function to check if someone else has already imported or uploaded the publication. If the publication is already available in TUNICRIS, you can add it to your own record by using the Claim function.

Importing publication information from a database (e.g. Scopus, Web of Science, etc.)

You can import publication information directly from the following databases/services:

Scopus (the library imports new Scopus publications to TUNICRIS weekly)
Web of Science
ORCID
PubMed
dblp
Mendeley
arXiv
SciELO
Espacenet

Importing publication information from a file (RIS/BibTeX)

It is easy to import publication data using a RIS or BibTeX file. Most publishers' websites provide publication information in these formats (look for "Download citation", "Cite this" etc.)

Uploading publication information manually

If it is not possible to import the publication directly from a database or RIS/BibTeX file, the data must be uploaded manually.

Self-archiving

In accordance with the open science policy of the Tampere University, the researchers self-archive their publications in the University’s institutional repository regardless of whether the original publication is available open access. This ensures the long-term availability of digital publications.

Most often the permitted version for self-archiving is the author's last peer-reviewed version of the article before it has had the publisher's layout and typesetting applied. This version is called e.g. post print, final draft, or accepted manuscript.

Check if your publication has been self-archived

Go to the "Research outputs" tab.
Click the filter icon below the search box.
Select "Self-archived publication" from the list
Select the options you want
- Self-archived publication: Yes = The publication has been self-archived; the file has been verified and is visible in the public portal.
- Self-archived publication: No = The publication has not been self-archived (or self-archiving has been done recently and the library has not yet verified it).
- Checking self-archiving policy = The publication has been self-archived, but the publisher's self-archiving policies are not clear, and the library is trying to clarify them. The file does not appear in the public portal.
The system filters your publications based on your selections.

Self-archiving using TUNICRIS

Add the publication metadata to TUNICRIS or open an existing record.
Read the publishing permission. By uploading a file, you acknowledge that you have read, understood, and accepted the licence terms, and give consent to publish the file online.
Click Add electronic version (file, DOI or link)... and select Upload an electronic version and add the PDF. Use an appropriate file name, such as the first words of the article title.
Select a version of the article:
- Submitted manuscript (pre-print) = Version that has not been peer-reviewed.
- Accepted author manuscript (post-print) = Version that has been peer-reviewed but not yet formatted by the publisher. The last version that the author sends to the publisher. Post-print is most often the version that publishers allow you to self-archive.
- Final published version (Publisher’s version) = The final version of the article that has been published in a journal and includes the publisher’s layout and typesetting. Self-archiving a publisher's version is usually not allowed, but some journals and publishers allow this as well.
Choose public access option:
- Always use the option Closed = Full text not accessible in the public portal. Only article authors and TUNICRIS-administrators can see the file in the internal interface. The library checks the self-archiving policy of the publication and changes the access type if necessary.
(Optional) If you know that the article you are adding has been published under a Creative Commons license, you can select the correct license under License to document. Also, if you know that the publisher requires that a certain set statement should accompany the file, you can add it to the Rights statement.

The library checks and, if necessary, adds all licenses and copyright statements before the file is made available on the public portal.

When you are finished, click Create and then Save.

Video tutorial on self-archiving

Publication data collection instructions for publication authors

Publication data collection instructions for publication authors cover the sections of the Ministry of Education and Culture's publication data collection manual (Tiedonkeruun käsikirjat, in Finnish) that are particularly relevant to authors of publications.