Citation databases are databases developed to help you evaluate publication activities. You can use them to find out publication and citation numbers, and to view for example which are the most cited articles or journals. Further information: Finnish national guide to publication metrics.
The Universities community has easy-to-use bibliometric databases; Scopus and Web of Science (WoS). They provide information on the number of citations achieved by publications and the possibility to analyse citations. Citation databases cover mainly articles, but they also include books, conference proceedings, and reports. Citations can also be searched from the freely available Google Scholar.
Citation analyses describe, based on the search term:
The analysis data provided by Scopus and WoS differ from each other because the contents of the databases are different. A special feature of Google Scholar is that it examines publication information available on the open web with a wide scope. As a result, the number of citations indicated by Google Scholar is higher than the data obtained through Scopus and WoS.
Below are links to the citation databases mentioned above (Scopus, Web of Science and Google Scholar) and their analysis tools (SciVal, InCites, and Publish or Perish). The databases can also be found on the A-Z Databases list.
Guides
Reference database and analysis tool
Guides
A citation database lets you find out the researcher’s:
Below is an example of a researcher's score in different databases:
N.B.!
Publication impact can also be examined in other ways than by relying on traditional peer-reviewed publications and the citations between them. Here are a few other metrics you can use to examine impact that don't fit the definition of traditional bibliometrics.
Altmetrics (article level metrics / alternative metrics) monitors the visibility of research in social media and elsewhere online, e.g.:
Does your research spark debate?
You can follow the discussion and attention received by your research on social media and other online services by using altmetrics tools. See tweets, mentions on news sites, Mendeley references, blog posts, and more received by your research. Altmetric Explorer and PlumX diagrams can be found in connection with the publication on the public portal of the TUNICRIS-research information system (https://researchportal.tuni.)
Learn more about PlumX.
The research data generated during the research process and its use can be analysed with the help of data metrics. Analysis perspectives include, for example:
Advanced data management practices, data access services, making data open access, and the technical solutions supporting the aforementioned are key prerequisites for effectively utilising metrics methods also in the examination of research data.
Source: Finnish national guide to publication metrics – Data metrics
Overton contains information regarding government and think tank publications, working papers, etc. Publications have been collected from thousands of sources from almost all countries of the world. In addition, the database contains information on the citations to scientific publications contained in these publications. The service can be used to search for so-called grey literature, or to investigate how certain scientific publications have been cited in non-scientific publications.
The Universities community has access to Overton database. The service does not require registration, but by registering you can for example save searches and dashboards.
Overton follows among others these Finnish sources: the Finnish Government, the Parliament, the Bank of Finland, Current Care Guidelines, the Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare (THL), Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke), and the Finnish Institute of International Affairs.
