Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access: Self-archiving

How to self-archive?

In the Tampere higher education community, all scientific publications are self-archived unless the publisher prevents it.

Self-archive the correct version of your article

  • you are almost always allowed to self-archive the author's accepted manuscript (post print version, final draft)
  • you are rarely allowed to self-archive the final publisher's version

Take a look at the publisher's self-archiving and copyright policies

  • beforehand in Sherpa/RoMEO
  • on the publisher´s homepage (see lisf of publihers´ self-archiving policies on Copyright tab of this guide)
  • when you are signing a publishing agreement

Note the possible embargo period the publisher applies 

  • you can self-archive your article as soon as it is published, despite the embargo
  • the article will be made available as soon as the embargo ends

How to self-archive?  

  • If you are working at Tampere University
    • upload the accepted manuscript in TUNICRIS (instructions available in TUNICRIS guide) OR
    • send the author´s accepted manuscript to oa@tuni.fi
  • if you are working at TAMK; see further information in intranet. Contact: justus.tamk@tuni.fi

Self-archived publications will be openly available in

  • Trepo, if you are working at Tampere University
  • Theseus, if you are working at TAMK

The Library always checks the publisher's open access policy before making the files openly available.

Checking the right to self-archiving

If the journal's policy cannot be found at SHERPA/RoMEO and there is no mention of it in the agreement offered by the publisher or at the publisher's web site, you can request permission to self-archive your article. For this, you can use the model form. See below:

Publishing process and article versions

In the publication process the first version submitted to a journal is called a pre-print, the second version after the peer-review process that you can ususally self-archive is called accepted manuscript and the final version after copy-editing and typesetting is called publisher's version. Before saving a research article,  a book chapter or a conference article in an institutional repository, you need to find out which version can be self-archived. The majority of publishers allow the author's own final version, or author´s accepted manuscript (post print version, final draf) to be saved into the university's own institutional repository. The author's own final version is the version that has been peer-reviewed and possibly edited according to the reviewer's comments but has not been finalized and edited by the publisher.

The final version of the publisher's own PDF version may be deposited to the instiutional repository if the article is published with the Creative Commons license. The article's final version is the publisher's edited version that has been published in the journal.

This table contains different names for article versions that publishers use at different stages of the publication process.

  Manuscript submitted to journal Author's final version of an article

Article published in a journal

Terms Pre-print, submitted version, author-submitted article Post-print, final draft, accepted author manuscript, accepted article, author's accepted manuscript

Final published article, final published version, version of record, definitive version, publisher PDF, publisher's version, ahead of print, in press, corrected proof, online first, epub,  forthcoming article.

Definition Not peer reviewed, author's first article manuscript version sent to a journal The author's final version of an article that has been modified according to the feedback of the peer review, does not have the layout or logos of the publisher Final version of the article that has layout, pagination, logo etc. finalized by the publisher

Self-archiving conference articles

Compared with articles published in scientific journals, the conference articles are often harder to find, since only some conference proceedings are indexed in databases like Web of Science or Scopus. The conference publications can also disappear quickly from the Internet, if they are only available for example via the conference website and the whole site is removed. In some conferences the proceedings are only given to participants on a USB stick and the articles are not available anywhere else.

Make sure your conference articles can be found by self-archiving them.

You often need to ask the conference organizers about their self-archiving policies, since they are not available for example in Sherpa/RoMEO. The library can help you with finding out self-archiving policies of conferences.

Read the instructions for self-archiving in our TUNICRIS guide.

Self-archiving and social media networks

There are many social media services that are meant for networking between researchers, for example ResearchGateAcademia.edu and Mendeley, which is also used for reference management.

These services tempt researchers to share their research articles on their site and thus increase their visibility. However, when saving research articles into social media services, copyright issues and the publishers' policies concerning these services must be taken into account. Social media services differ from institutional repositories, whose function is to save a specific research organization's research articles. Make sure you find out about the publisher's self-archiving practices from Sherpa/RoMEO, from the publisher's website or from How Can I Share It service. Some publishers have a negative view of social media services.

You can share articles through ResearchGate, for example, by adding a link that takes you to the institutional repository of Tampere Universities where the article is self-archived. Please use the permanent web address available in the institutional repository. 

Example of a persistent web address in TUNICRIS

The differences between institutional repositories and social media services are discussed for example in University of California Office of Scholarly Communication article A social networking site is not an open access repository.

Benefits of self-archiving

  • Increases the visibility and the impact of the research
  • Increases the probability of being cited
  • Fills the recommendations of EU and many funders for favoring Open Access policy
  • Is free of charge. No article processing charges like in OA journals
  • Makes articles more easily available to the author himself/herself
  • Frees the researcher and the faculty from maintaining their own publication archives or data archives
  • Researchers can publish their articles in whichever original platform they choose
  • Most publishers are well-disposed toward self-archiving
  • The publications get a permanent internet address which is easy to share through the social media

Embargo

Embargo = A period of time defined by the publisher, calculated from the publishing date of the original publication, during which the author has no permission to publish a self-archived open access copy of the publication in question. The embargo period varies by the publisher from 6 to 18 months. Some publishers do not set an embargo period. Information about publisher's copyright and self-archiving policy can be found on SHERPA/RoMEOwebsite.

Publishers' embargoes for self-archiving

Citing an article/work deposited in the institutional repository

Cite the original publication instead of the self-archived version. If you also want to cite the version deposited in the institutional repository of the University, use the permanent URN-address.

Open Access repositories and tools

Open Access repositories can be institutional repositories or subject- based repositories. Self-archive your articles primarily in the institutional repository of Tampere higher education community but you can additionally deposit articles in established, open access repositories on your field. You can also use archives for information searching.     

Check also our Alternative Access guide with additional ways to access scientific articles behind a paywall.      

Repositories

  • arXiv - Repository for physics, mathematics, computer science etc.
  • bioRxiv - Repository for biology
  • PhilPapers - Repository for philosophy
  • PubMed Central - Repository for biomedical and life sciences
  • RePEc - Repository for economics
  • SocArXiv - Repository for social sciences
  • SSRN - Multidisciplinary repository
  • Zenodo - Multidisciplinary repository

Search engines and other tools

  • BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
  • OpenAIRE - Portal for searching publications, datasets etc. 
  • OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories
  • ROAR - Registry of Open Access Repositories
  • ROARMAP - Registry of Open Access Repository Mandates and Policies
  • Unpaywall - A browser extension which helps to find Open Access articles 

Logo

Email: library@tuni.fi
P. 0294 520 900

Kirjaston kotisivut | Library homepage
Andor

Palaute | Feedback