Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TUNICRIS Guide: Self-archiving

Self-archiving is required by Tampere University

According to the Tampere University open science policy, self-archiving of research articles is required if the publisher's policy allows self-archiving. The most commonly allowed version for self-archiving is the author's last version of the article before the publisher's layout. This version is known as the post print, final draft or accepted manuscript.

You can save you full texts in TUNICRIS and they will be automatically transferred to the Trepo institutional repository.

By self-archiving your article will get a permanent web address (URN).

For more information on our open science policy and OA support services, please see the Tampere higher education community Open Access guide.

How to check which of your publications are self-archived

  1. Go to "Research outputs"
  2. Click on the filter icon below the search box.
  3. Choose "Self-archived publication"
  4. Choose one or more of the following:
    • Self-archived publication: Yes = The publication has been self-archived, the file has been checked and it is visible on the online portal.
    • Self-archived publication: No = The publication has not been self-archived (or it has been self-archived so recently that the library has not yet checked it).
    • Checking self-archiving policy = The publication has been self-archived, but the publisher's self-archive policy is unclear and the library is trying to find it out. The file is not yet visible on the public portal.
  5. The system will now filter your publications based on your choices.

Creative Commons

The Tampere University library self-archives all Create Commons licensed articles to Trepo and TUTCRIS automatically.

Read more about Creative Commons licensing:

Publishing permission

By sending your publication to the library for self-archiving or to be published in the institutional repository of Tampere University, you accept the following conditions concerning your publication type:

Video: Self-archiving in TUNICRIS

Self-archiving

You can self-archive your articles in three alternative ways:

  1. The TUNICRIS system sends an automatic reminder message when you are added to a publication. You can self-archive your article directly in TUNICRIS using the input for. If you're registering a publication manually, it is recommended to save the full text right away.
  2. If self-archiving is allowed by the publisher but you haven't self-archived your article yet, the library will email you and request the article. You can also send your article by replying to the email.
  3. You can send your articles to oa@tuni.fi and the library will save them on your behalf.

Self-archiving in TUNICRIS

  1. Add the publication metadata to TUNICRIS or open an existing record.
  2. Read the publishing permission. By uploading a file, you indicate that you have read, understood and accepted the license terms and given your consent to online publication.
  3. To add the file, click Add electronic version (file, DOI or link)... and choose Upload an electronic version and add the PDF file. Please use an appropriate file name, for example the first words of the title of the article.
  4. If you are adding a journal article, the publisher’s copyright policy will be displayed on the template automatically. If you are adding a conference paper, the publisher’s policy will not be displayed automatically.
  5. Choose the document version:
    • Submitted manuscript (pre-print) = A version that has not undergone the peer review process yet.
    • Accepted author manuscript (post-print) = A version that has undergone the peer review process. The layout of this version has not yet been decided by the publisher. The final version submitted to the publisher by the author. Post-print is most often the version that publishers allow you to self-archive.
    • Final published version (Publisher’s version) = The final version of the article, including the publisher’s layout, which is published in a journal. Self-archiving a publisher's version is often not allowed, but some journals and publishers allow this as well.
  6. Choose the public access option:
    • Open = Full text accessible openly.
    • Embargoed = Full text accessible openly after the end of embargo.
    • Restricted = Full text not accessible in the public portal.
    • Closed = Full text not accessible in the public portal. Can only be seen by authors of the article and TUNICRIS editors in the backend.
  7. (Optional) If you know that the publication you are adding is licensed under a Creative Commons license, you can choose the correct license in License to document. Also, if you know a set statement should accompany the file, you can add it to Rights statement.

The library checks all licenses and rights statements before the file is made available on the public portal.

When you are finished, choose Create and then Save.