Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TUNICRIS Guide: Publications

Publications

All articles, monographs, theses, patents and other protected inventions, computer programs and audio-visual products from Tampere University and Pirkanmaa Hospital District are registered to TUNICRIS. Publications are classified according to the Finnish Ministry of Education and Culture publication type classification. The library validates all publication data. More information on publication data collection and publication types: Publication data collection instructions for researchers.

Publication data imports

New publications published by the Tampere University and Pirkanmaa Hospital District are automatically imported from Web of Science, Scopus and Pubmed databases to TUNICRIS. However, publications in Finnish language and many conference publications are not generally indexed in these databases and such publications have to be added manually.

Keep your profile and publications up-to date

Researchers are responsible for their own publication data in TUNICRIS. Please make sure that you save all publications that cannot be found through automatic imports. You can also modify and supplement imported publications if necessary. You must also report incorrect publications and other errors in your profile.

Who registers publications?

All publications of the Tampere University and Pirkanmaa Hospital District are registered in TUNICRIS. The publication must be related to the author's research work and expertise.

Registering publications as the university's outputs are determined by the affiliation displayed in the publication and by the university's resourcing.

Affiliation means that Tampere University (Tampereen yliopisto) is mentioned with the author's name in the publication. However, the affiliation shown in the publication alone is not necessarily sufficient to say that the publication is the university's output. See also Affiliations in publications.

Resourcing means that the university has supported the creation of the publication. The author has received salary from the university during the research work or the university has made the creation of the publication possible by providing resources and work environment (equipment, materials, research group) or guidance (e.g. doctoral students and researchers with grants). Resourcing can be verified by a contract of employment, resource agreement or an emeritus or emerita agreement.

  • Most of the university staff have a contract of employment.
  • In exceptional cases, a resource agreement can be made for the use of the Tampere University resources for a fixed term. The agreement defines the time for which the researcher has access to the resources of the university, what the resources are, in which resource group the resources are used and to what the researcher commits to. Research contracts are used for example when the unit allocates resources to a researcher who has received a personal grant. The use of resource contracts by the Faculty of Medicine and Life Sciences differs slightly from other faculties, as the faculty and the hospital use one another's research infrastructure.
  • A retired person may enter into an emeritus/emerita agreement with his/her unit.
  • Basic information on staff with contracts of employment, resource agreements and emeritus/emerita agreements is automatically synchronized from the university's HR system.
  • In case of doctoral students, the connection to the university can also be verified from the student registry.

For more information on contracts, please contact the HR specialist of your unit.

Affiliations in publications

It is important for the visibility of the university and researchers that the university’s name is displayed correctly already in the manuscript of a publication, from where it will be indexed to international and national reference databases.

Write your contact information clearly into your publication. Mark the name of the university first. Use the form: University, Faculty, City, Country.

For example:

  • Teija Tutkija, Tampere University, Faculty of Information Technology and Communication Sciences, Tampere, Finland

When to add a publication manually?

All publications are not indexed to international or domestic reference databases. Publications can also be indexed after a delay of up to a year from the original publication date. In such a case it is best to add the publication manually so that the publication is included in reporting and statistics.


Before saving a publication manually, use the TUNICRIS search to check that someone else has not already imported or saved the same publication. If the publication is already saved in TUNICRIS, you can add it to your profile by using the Claim function. The library then checks the publication data again.

The following publications are generally saved manually:

  • Professional and general public publications (publication types D and E)
  • Chapters in research books
  • Conference publications not published by major publishers (such as IEEE, ACM, Springer)
  • Reports
  • Artistic outputs

Video: importing and saving publications in TUNICRIS

Adding publications manually

  1. Log in to TUNICRIS
  2. Click Add new button
  3. Choose Research output > Create from template
  4. Select the publication type (e.g. Contribution to journal > Article)
  5. Fill in at least the required fields (marked with )
  6. Self-archive your publication by clicking Add electronic version (file, DOI or link)... > Upload an electronic version. Read more about self-archiving in TUNICRIS.
  7. When you are finished, click Save

Importing publications from online sources

  1. Log in to TUNICRIS and click the Add new button.
  2. Choose Research output > Import from online source
  3. Select the online Source (e.g. Scopus or Web of Science)
  4. Enter the publication title, ID, author's name or affiliation and click Search. In Scopus you may also use the ORCID ID for searching.
  5. Review the list of results. If a publication has been imported already, you will see a notification and you cannot import the same publication again.
  6. Click and review the list of authors. Make sure that all authors and affiliations are correctly matched. If there are multiple matches (e.g researchers with partially or exactly the same name), choose the correct person from the list by clicking theicon.
  7. Click Import & review
  8. Review the data and fill in the remaining required fields (marked with )
  9. Self-archive your publication by clicking Add electronic version (file, DOI, link) > Upload an electronic version. See also Self-archiving in TUNICRIS.
  10. When you are finished, click Save.