Researcher's guide to responsible and open science

You can apply for OA support funding as usual  throughout the turn of the year. We aim to process requests within 1-3 working days but delays are possible.

Tampere University Library covers article and book processing charges (APCs and BPCs) for open access publishing of peer-reviewed publications by members of the Tampere higher education community.

OA support funding is available to individuals affiliated with Tampere University or Tampere University of Applied Sciences who meet the funding criteria. Learn more about affiliations. 

Before applying for OA support funding, please check the APC discounts available to members of Tampere Universities. 

Starting 1 January 2026, the prior licence model will affect APC and BPC payments by the Library

By the President's decision, Tampere University has adopted the prior licence model, which applies to peer-reviewed journal and conference articles and book chapters (categories A1-A4 in the Ministry of Education and Culture's publication data collection). 

The prior licence model applies to manuscripts submitted for review on or after 1 January 2026. If such an article is published in a subscription-based hybrid journal, the accepted manuscript (AM) wil be self-archived and made immediately open in the University's institutional repository. 

How APC and BPC payments will change after 1 January 2026

• The library will pay APCs and BPCs for manuscripts submitted before 1 January 2026 according to the previous criteria.
• From 2026 onwards, the library will not pay APCs for peer-reviewed articles published in hybrid journals or for peer-reviewed book chapters published in partially open edited volumes (A1-A3) when the manuscript is submitted on or after 1 January 2026. See the new payment criteria.  
• There will be no changes to covering open access costs for peer-reviewed monographs (C1).
• The library will decide on a case-by-case basis whether to cover APCs for openly published peer-reviewed conference articles (A4) in projects funded by Horizon Europe. 

The library monitors the criteria for OA support funding and, if necessary, changes may be made to them during the year. OA support funding requires that none of the authors, their home organisations, or the publisher are on the sanctions list. 

Contact us at: 

You can apply for support funding from the Library to pay the article processing charges (APC) or book processing charges (BPC) for your peer-reviewed publication that has been accepted for publication.

Please note that the library does not pay for open access costs retrospectively for publications that have already been published.

What to do when applying for OA support funding

1. First, check whether you can take advantage of the article processing charge discounts available to members of the Tampere Universities community or whether you can publish your article open access free of charge due to an agreement with the publisher. If the publication channel you have chosen is not covered by the Library's agreements, or the agreement does not cover the full APC, you can apply for support funding for the APC.
2. Read more about the criteria for OA support funding.
3. Apply for support funding using the form below. Follow the instructions in the email you will receive to confirm your application. The email is sent from an address ending in @chronoshub.io. We process confirmed applications within 1-3 business days.
4. When your application for support funding is accepted, forward the invoicing address for Tampere University to the publisher as instructed.
5. Self-archive your publication in Tampere University's TUNICRIS research information system or in Tampere University of Applied Sciences' institutional repository Theseus.

By applying for OA support funding, you commit to self-archiving your open access publication in the institutional repository of Tampere University or Tampere University of Applied Sciences.

Do the following with an article processing charge invoice

Please note that the Library does not pay any other publishing costs, such as page, image, or colour fees, or the costs of submitting a manuscript. The Library does not reimburse article processing charges that have already been paid.

The Library will provide you with an invoicing address and other necessary information for the publisher once the Library has processed your application and agreed to pay the article processing charge. Follow the instructions provided. Please do not pay the article processing charge with a credit card.

The library covers article or book processing charges for peer-reviewed publications when the criteria below are met. Applications for OA support funding can be made once the manuscript has been accepted for publication. Please not that the library does not pay for open access costs retrospectively for publications that have already been published.

The library monitors the criteria of OA support funding and, if necessary, changes may be made to them during the year. OA support funding requires that none of the authors, their home organisations, or the publisher are on a sanctions list. 

Corresponding author

• The corresponding author of the publication must be affiliated with Tampere University or Tampere University of Applied Sciences when requesting funding for the costs of open access publication.
• The affiliated person has an active employment contract or extended resource agreement with Tampere University or Tampere University of Applied Sciences or is actively working towards a doctoral degree at Tampere University. 
• The affiliation with Tampere University or Tampere University of Applied Sciences is mentioned in the publication. The publication is reported as a Tampere University or Tampere University of Applied Sciences publication in the Ministry of Education and Culture's publication data collection. 

Publication type

• Peer-reviewed journal or review article (publication types A1-A2 in the Ministry of Education and Culture's publication data collection) must be published in a fully Open Access journal.
• Peer-reviewed book chapter (A3) must be published in an edited volume that is fully Open Access. The library will decide on a case-by-case basis whether to cover the Open Access publishing costs for the entire edited volume (C2) or only for the chapters written by authors affiliated with the Tampere University or Tampere University of Applied Sciences. 
• Peer-reviewed monograph (C1) must be published fully Open Access.
• The library will consider on a case-by-case basis whether to pay the author fee for an openly published, peer-reviewed conference publication (A4) associated with a project funded by Horizon Europe. 

Publication channel

• The selected scholarly journal must be a fully Open Access journal. Edited volumes and monographs must be fully Open Access.
• The chosen publication channel must be rated at level 1-3 in the Publication Forum classification.
• The publication channel must use Creative Commons licences for openly published articles and monographs. 
• A fully Open Acces publication channel must be Plan S compliant and meet the Research Council of Finland's Open Access requirements, including the use of CC licences, when the project is funded by the Research Council.
• A fully Open Access publication channel must meet Horizon Europe's Open Access requirements, including the use of CC licences, when the procject is funded by Horizon Europe.
• The publication channel charges an article processing charge (APC) of up to 3,500 euros or a book processing charge (BPC) of up to 15,000 euros for a monograph or an edited volume. If the open access costs exceed the above amounts, the library may accept the application for a special reason. 

The Library covers article or book processing charges for peer-reviewed publications when the criteria below are met. Applications for OA support funding can be made once the manuscript has been accepted for publication. Please note that the library does not pay for open access costs retrospectively for publications that have already been published.

The Library monitors the criteria of OA support funding and, if necessary, changes may be made to them during the year. OA support funding requires that none of the authors, their home organisations, or the publisher are on a sanctions list.

Corresponding author

• The corresponding author of the publication must be affiliated with Tampere University or Tampere University of Applied Sciences when applying for funding for the costs of open access publication.
• The affiliated person has a valid employment contract or extended resource agreement with Tampere University or Tampere University of Applied Sciences or is actively working towards a doctoral degree at Tampere University.
• The affiliation with Tampere University or Tampere University of Applied Sciences is mentioned in the publication. The publication is reported as a Tampere University or Tampere University of Applied Sciences publication in the Ministry of Education and Culture's publication data collection.

Publication type

• Funding is available for the open access publishing of a peer-reviewed scientific journal article, review article, book chapter, or monograph (categories A1-A3 and C1 of the Ministry of Education and Culture's publication data collection).
• The Library decides on a case-by-case basis whether to pay the costs of open access publishing for the whole edited volume (category C2 of the Ministry of Education and Culture's publication data collection) or only the book chapters written by researchers affiliated with Tampere Universities.
• The Library pays the open access publishing costs for peer-reviewed conference papers for projects funded by Horizon Europe (category A4 of the Ministry of Education and Culture's publication data collection).

Publication channel

• The selected publication channel is ranked at level 1-3 by the Finnish Publication Forum.
• The publication channel uses Creative Commons licenses for open access articles and monographs.
• The publication channel is Plan S compliant and meets the Research Council of Finland’s open access requirements, including the use of CC licenses when the project is funded by the Research Council.
• The publication channel meets Horizon Europe's open access requirements (PDF), including the use of CC licenses when the project is funded by Horizon Europe.
• The publication channel charges an article processing charge (APC) of up to 3,500 euros or a book processing charge (BPC) of up to 15,000 euros for a monograph or an edited work. If the open access costs exceed the above amounts, the Library may accept the application for a special reason.

The Journal Guide service is a tool that helps researchers find publication channels where they can publish Open Access articles either completely without an article processing charge (APC), or with a discounted APC. The service is tailored to the needs of the Tampere Universities community.

Journal Guide tool contains information on the terms and conditions of agreements between the Tampere Universities community and publishers, as well as discounts under the agreements. Information on the journal's JUFO category has also been included in the journal search. The tool can also be used just to find publication channels in your own field of science outside the agreements. Most journals included in the Journal Guide are not part of the agreements.

• Contains information from about 50,000 journals, including: Journals indexed in the Scopus database, DOAJ's completely open access journals that are free of charge for authors, and journals evaluated in the Publication Forum (JUFO).
• You can search for either a specific journal or journal on a specific topic using keywords or subject area filters.
• You can compare the suitability of journals with the requirements of research funders (e.g. Plan S funders).
• You can filter the search results to only show journals that are part of an open access agreement between the library and publishers.
• The Journal Guide is available only in English.

Instructions how to fill OA Support Funding form.

Video OA Support Funding form (video opens to the new window).

CC-BY 4.0 license does not apply to this section: Apply for OA support funding. 

Following information will be transferred to ChronosHub when you log in:

• your name
• email address
• phone number
• faculty / unit

Fill in the following information on the request form:

• title of the publication
• corresponding author and co-authors
• publication type
• title of the publication channel
• publisher
• amount of the article or book processing charge and currency
• research funder and grant number, if applicable