Pedagogical development - Teacher's guide - Oppaat | Guides at Tampere University Library

Pedagogical leadership

Pedagogical leadership is one of the strategic develompent goals at Tampere University community. The library supports teachers' development by acquiring pedagogical literature. Pedagogical leadership is about teaching and learning, and all development and leadership in those areas.

Leadership Theory and the Community College by Carlos Nevarez; J. Luke Wood; Rose Penrose; Eduardo J. Padrón
ISBN: 9781579226336
Publication Date: 2015-06-19
Building Academic Leadership Capacity by Walter H. Gmelch; Jeffrey L. Buller
ISBN: 9781118989319
Publication Date: 2015-01-08

Teaching skills and teachers' development

You will need to update your pedagogical skills to develop as a teacher. The library acquires literature in pedagogical development as well as higher education teaching tips.

Instruction Myth by John Tagg
ISBN: 9781978804456
Publication Date: 2019-04-05
Shaping Higher Education with Students by Vincent C. H. Tong (Editor); Mina Sotiriou; Alex Standen (Editor)
ISBN: 1787351122
Publication Date: 2018-08-15
The Psychology of Study Success in Universities by Kaarina Maatta; Satu Uusiautti
ISBN: 9780415791960
Publication Date: 2017-08-03
Becoming a Critically Reflective Teacher by Stephen D. Brookfield
ISBN: 9781119049708
Publication Date: 2017-02-13

A search query in Andor about online education
Limits: books, available online, years 2015-2021

Electronic resources

You may use our extensive guides to find multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. There you may find relevant information for your research and education needs.

If you are looking for research about education development and teaching, we offer multiple databases that include peer-reviewed articles, academic journals and e-books. The following databases are relevant for that purpose:

Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1200 journals.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International database in education. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Materials available from 1966.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 940 journals from 1999 in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine, also education.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary. Technology, nature sciences, medicine, business, social sciences, education. +2200 full text journals, +41 000 books, 177 reference works.
Emerald This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text journals in management, technology, business, information studies, education, social care and tourism. 1996-, over 300 full text journals.
EBSCO eBooks (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary e-book service. Instructions: Guides - E-book guide.

Subject guides in Library guides
In Library's Science Port - subject guides, you find subject-specific guides that are relevant for specific fields of stydy.
Education guide

Printed and electronic resources in Andor

You'll find journals about pedagocical development in library's e-journals.
You may also search according to author, topic or tiltle in Andor.
You may combine your search words with Booleans AND and OR. There is automatic stemming in Andor in English language terms.

Andor search service This link opens in a new window
Search service for both print and online library resources. Journals, articles, books, e-books.

Other useful tools for teachers

We also offer a variety of dictionaries, reference works, and research methods guides.

In subject guides, in the dictionaries tab you will find more field-specific reference works and thesauruses.

MOT Kielipalvelu This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MOT Kielipalvelu replaces the old MOT Online -service. MOT Kielipalvelu contains MOT dictionaries, MOT Proofing, MOT Translation and Tampere University dictionary. MOT Books still works on the old platform MOT Online which works until the end of 2021.

On the campus networks MOT Kielipalvelu operates without logging in. Outside of campus log in with your tuni account OR subscribe to the email link to access the service anytime, anywhere. You can order the login link at https://www.sanakirja.fi/korkeakouluille. Please use your tuni email address.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries and reference works on many subject areas. Instructions: Guides - E-book guide.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods contains books, reference works, articles and videos on research methods. Instructions: Guides - E-book guide.

Shelf numbers at the library

Education self numbers at Hervanta unit:

p37 Education

Education self numbers at Linna unit:

380 Education
380.5 Education : serials
381 Pedagogics
382 Didactics
383 School system. Early childhood education. Vocational education
384 Higher education. University administration. Science
384 ACTA Series of the universities
385 Adult education
387 Youth education
388 Learning skills. Communication
389 History of education

Education shelf numbers at TAMK main campus unit:

38 Upbringing. Education. Educational science
38.1 Family upbringing
38.2 Didactics
38.3 Study techniques
38.4 Universities. Institutions of higher education
38.5 Educational service
38.55 Special education. Special pedagogy. Special schools
38.6 Adult training. Liberal adult education