Andor-opas: English

In Andor, you will find customer functions as well as printed and electronic resources provided by the library. If you are making systematic searches for your thesis we advice you to also search in databases offered in subject guides.

Signing in to Andor

• Student or staff at Tampere university or TAMK: use your tuni account to sign in. You will see your patron information and borrowed books as well as get access to electronic resources.
• Other customers: sign in with the e-mail address you have given to the library register OR  with your library card number.
  When signing in with the library card, if you do not have a password or it has been reset, just write something in the password field, and you will be redirected to change your password. Password has to have at least 8 characters and consist of numbers and/or letters. If you forget your password, contact the library and we will reset it.

Pin code (needed for self-service check out machines only)

• A four number pin code is only needed for the check-out machines, when borrowing books. If you do not have a PIN code or you have lost it, you can set a new pin code in Andor by signing in, selecting "Personal details" and "update login credentials" - pin code.
• You can also contact the library to set or change your pin code.

After signing in to Andor, you are able to see your loans, requests, unpaid fees and customer information. You are able to renew loans and see the status of your requested books. Clicking library card icon, you see an overview of your information in one look.  You may continue to see all your loans, requests, fees, library blocks or messages and personal details respectively.

In favourites you will see the results you have saved earlier. You may also save search queries and make search alerts. You may also create your own tags to your saved results, that only you can see.

N:B: If you are using a public computer, remember to log out from Andor, so the next user cannot see your personal information.

A picture of the overview of customer's library card information:

In favourites, you will see your saved results.

In Basic search you may search within all resources "everything",  or you may select a predefined limitation to one of  the following:

• library catalog (=library purchased books, e-books and other material listed in library catalog)
• institutional repositories (Trepo & Theseus) (=searches within university community theses and other publications in Trepo and Theseus)
• international articles (Central discovery index= a vast collection of e-articles or article references, also references to books/e-books/other resources)
• printed publications (=only printed books or journals). 

In basic search, you may combine your multiple search terms with Booleans AND and OR (use block letters).  You may also truncate your search words with * (asterisk). However, without asterisk, there is automatic stemming in Andor, that retrieves words in inflected forms (behaviour finds behavior). Sometimes using asterisk may reduce the number of results. You may add quotation marks to search for phrases (N.B. read instructions if your phrasal search does not work!). Read more about search algorithms : Search and ranking in Central Discovery Index.

Examples of search queries:

• "higher education" AND quality
• Finnish OR Finland
• "big data"

In Advanced search you may make targeted searches in the collections the same way as the basic search by choosing one of the radio buttons. You may also make a lot of other choices. You may choose if your search term appears in the title field, author field or subject term field. You may search with exact terms, combine your search words by selecting AND/OR/NOT from the drop down menu. You may select time, language, and publication type limits etc.

N.B! Read Instructions on how to search with Booleans and phrases (limitations to using phrases), and find out how the search engine ranks the results: Search and ranking in Central Discovery Index.

For more thorough searches howewer, use the invidual databases. You may find suitable databases via databases list or subject guides.

You may Tweak your results after your search.

In the left-hand menu you'll find useful limits, that will narrow down your search results:

• Library: here you may limit to library unit location where you want to find printed books: Arvo Unit, Linna Unit, Hervanta Unit, TAMK unit
• Available online: You will get documents that are available online, such as e-books, e-articles, electronic theses (N.B: licenced e-resources in off-campus use: login with TUNI account)
• Publication date: Limit your search to certain time period. 

On the search result list, you will find icons next to each item, that help you to save results for further use.

You may send the results to your own e-mail (e-mail icon), copy the result  in as a bibliographic reference in different referencing styles (quotation mark icon), or save your results in your personal account in Andor (pin icon).

Three dots open other options, such as saving your reference to reference management system.

In journal search you will find electronic and printed journals provided by the library. Seach by journal title or ISSN number. In the left hand menu you will find international journals by category, does not cover Finnish journals.

A-Z Databases you will find links to different databases.

In Andor basic and and advanced searches you will find a good number of results. However, for more specific and extensive searches also use databases native interfaces. You fill find them via a-z databases list or library guides. For example, Finnish articles or certain resource types (legal documents, statistical information) is better search via databases.