Teacher's guide: Learning materials

The library acquires both printed and electronic resources to support study, education and research. These are available for university community members with tuni account, also in remote use for most services. Electronic resources, such as e-books are flexible study materials. People can use them where they like and most services allow multiple users.

Open learning materials is a term for that kind of materials that are open for anybody, even without university accounts. Find more information about Open access in this guide.

Please, check the allowed terms and conditions for using each resource: more information about terms and conditions.

See information about course book acquisition. 

Library offers a variety of media and video resources for education use.

You will also find videos and online courses in these services: AccessEngineering, JoVe Science Education, JoVE Video Journal,  Literature Online, Naxos Video Library, Oppiportti, O'Reilly

• The Library acquires e-books from many different vendors. Therefore, their terms and conditions, usage patterns, loan times and reading programs vary. Some books have unlimited simultaneous access, some have access to only one or three users at a time. Unlimited simultaneous use may be based on annual loan dates (e.g., 200 loan days per year) that pass when the book is used.
• Usually it it possible to make notes and highlights to e-books.
• Printing and copying are usually restricted.
• In our E-resource guide you can find more detailed instructions and terms of use.
• All books are not available as an e-version or an e-book may be only available for private use, but not under an organizational license.

Individual e-books acquired by the Library can be found in Andor search service. In Andor you can also find a comprehensive selection of open books from different disciplines.

E-book services can be found in the Library's database list (choose database type : e-book databases).

• In large interdisciplinary e-book collections (e.g. in Ebook Central and Ebsco Ebooks) you can browse books by subject area.
• You can also perform searches with multiple search terms using AND/OR/NOT operators. The search can be limited to for example title field or to keyword fields. It can also be limited by, for example, the year of publication or the publisher.
• Research method literature can be found in the Sage Research Methods Online database.

• You can limit Andor's search results to e-books only: First make a search selecting "everything" from the drop-down menu. After the search, limit the search result from the left to resource type: books and availability: available online.

Use links in Andor search service or Database A-Z list

When you add an article or e-book link to e.g. Moodle, use the permanent link in Andor search service. You can find the permanent link in Andor reference Send to – Permalink. Choose Copy the Permalink to Clipboard.

The links in Databases A-Z list are in remotely usable format. Copy the link by selecting Share.

Here’s how to form a remote access link

If your article or e-book is not found in Andor, you can edit the link so that the user can access the material outside the campus area and on mobile devices. The remote access link takes you to a login page where you add your Tuni credentials and access the e-material.

The proxy server address of Tampere University is https://libproxy.tuni.fi/login?URL= 

Example of forming a remote access link:

• The permanent link for the article in Journal of Information Science is https://doi.org/10.1177/0165551520961256 
• Add the proxy server addresshttps://libproxy.tuni.fi/login?URL= in front of the journal’s URL and the article can be accessed remotely in https://libproxy.tuni.fi/login?URL=https://doi.org/10.1177/0165551520961256

In the Library's subject guides you can find tips on the best printed and e-resources in each field. 

Please remember the Library's large e-journal collections when choosing learning material. Individual journals can be found via Andor's journal search. E-journal databases can be found  in the database list (select database type: e-journal databases).