Teacher's guide: Open data, open science

Picture: Jonne Renvall, Tampereen yliopisto / Tampere University

"Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning and research materials in any medium – digital or otherwise – that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation and redistribution by others with no or limited restrictions." (Unesco)

Learn more about Creative Commons Licenses

About digital research services and open science: Think Open Blog (HY)

• DOAJ  is the most extensive critical directory of scientific Open Access journals. For those interested in OA publishing, DOAJ includes a useful listing of subject areas.
• Persee.fr offers an open and free of charge access to several publications in French in the fields of humanities and social sciences.
• EZB Elektronische Zeitschriftbibliotek - Electronic Journals Library
• Journal.fi - Finnish scholarly journals online

Besides TED Talks, you can find a lot of videos produced by experts and universities in Youtube.

From the copyright's point of view, the safest way to share a video, for instance, in Moodle, is to share a link to it. 

• Open learning materials are any type of educational material that are freely available to use, adapt, share, and reuse. They are licensed under open licences (i.e. CC licence).
• Open learning materials can include books, articles, images, videos or data. They may also include course modules.

This tab contains information about open learning resources and links to various kinds of freely available materials to be utilized in teaching and learning.

The Open Educational Resources can also be found in Finna.fi, which gathers materials from museums, libraries and archives under one roof. (The link takes you to the search restricted to the materials stored in the Library of Open Educational Resources)

• DOAB is the most extensive critical directory of scientific Open Access books. For those who are interested in OA publishing, DOAB contains a useful listing of subject areas also including information about the publishers.
• Edition.fi contains Finnish Monographs and Edited Volumes Online

• Oapen offers an extensive, critical directory of Open Access monographs. The list of Top subjects provides useful information on subjects and contact information of various publishers.
• Open Access eBooks on JSTOR contains openly accessible academic monographs, mainly in the field of humanities and social sciences.Each book carries one of six Creative Commons licenses determined by the publisher.
• InTech Open Access Bookscontains openly accessible monographs, mainly in the field of physical sciences, engineering and technology, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
• B.C Open Textbook Collection Multidisciplinary
• Open Textbook Library Multidisciplinary
• Milne Open Textbooks (previously Open SUNY Textbooks) Multidisciplinary
• Physics World Discovery (IOPscience)

In Andor, you can refine your search for Open Access.