Articles and databases - Social sciences - Oppaat | Guides at Tampere University Library

Databases of Social Sciences

Start with these:

Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Sisältää sosiaalitieteiden, politiikan tutkimuksen, kasvatustieteiden, kielitieteiden, informaatiotutkimuksen ja kriminologian viite- ja kokotekstitietokantoja. Provides access to reference- and full-text databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, information studies, linguistics and education
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Monitieteinen tietokanta sisältää yli 10 000 lehteä, joista suurin osa tieteellisesti arvioituja kokotekstilehtiä lähes kaikilta tieteenaloilta.The database includes full text for more than 10 000 journals. Most of them are peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociology Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Kokotekstilehtiä sosiologian alalta. Aihealueina on mm. sukupuoli-identiteetti, avioliitto ja perhe, väestötiede, poliittinen sosiologia, uskonto, ja sosiaaliantropologia.Fulltexts covering the field of sociology. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

These three databases are included in the Social Science Premium collection, but can also be searched separately:

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Viitteitä ja tiivistelmiä terveyden, sosiaalityön, psykologian, sosiologian, talouden, politiikan rotusyrjinnän ja koulutuksen aloilta. The Reference database covers health, social services, economics, politics, race relations and education.
- This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Sisältää sekä lehtiartikkeliviitteitä että kirjaviitteitä yhteiskuntatieteiden aihealueilta.An essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Includes bibliographic references to journal articles and to books.
- This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Sosiologian, sosiaalipolitiikan ja muiden yhteiskuntatieteiden kansainvälinen viitetietokanta. Sisältää lehtiartikkeliviitteiden lisäksi viitteitä konferenssijulkaisuihin.Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- This link opens in a new window

Other useful databases

Mutlidisciplinary databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR on yli 500 lehden kokotekstitietokanta alkaen ensimmäisestä lehtivuosikerrasta. Aihealueet kattavat laajalti yhteiskuntatieteitä, humanistisia tieteitä, liiketaloutta ja taloutta. JSTORissa ei ole uusimpia lehtiartikkeleita: julkaisurajoitukset (embargo) ovat tavallisesti 1-5 vuoden mittaisia.Tilaus sisältää seuraavat kokoelmat: Arts & Sciences Collections I-IV ja Business CollectionJSTOR is a fulltext database in the fields of social sciences, arts and business. The database includes over 500 journals in fulltext from the first volume, but the latest volumes are not included.Subscription includes following collections: Arts & Sciences Collections I-IV and Business Collection
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window Sisältää yli 940 lehteä vuodesta 1999 lähtien mm. kasvatustieteen, psykologian, viestinnän, liiketalouden, tekniikan, luonnontieteiden, lääketieteen, yhteiskuntatieteiden ja humanististen tieteiden aloilta.Contains over 940 journals from 1999 in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Yli 2200 lehden kokotekstiartikkelit pääosin luonnontieteiden ja lääketieteen aloilta, mutta myös taloustieteiden, yhteiskuntatieteiden sekä humanististen tieteiden aloilta. Sisältää myös kirjaston hankkimia e-kirjoja lähinnä tekniikan aloilta.Multidisciplinary. Technology, nature sciences, mathematics, business. 1995-, over 14 million articles, over 2200 full text journals. Contains also e-books mainly on technology.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window Yli 2200 lehteä matematiikan, fysiikan, kemian, lääke-, luonnon-, ympäristö-, geo-, insinööri-, tietojenkäsittely-, taloustieteiden ja humanististen tieteiden aloilta. Sisältää myös kirjaston hankkimia e-kirjoja erityisesti tekniikan, lääketieteen ja luonnontieteiden aloilta.Multidisciplinary. Technology, nature sciences, medicine, business, social sciences. +2200 full text journals, +41 000 books and reference works.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window Monitieteinen Taylor & Francis Library (SSH+S&T) sisältää n. 2000 e-lehteä. Lehdet ovat saatavilla vuodesta 1997 lähtien.The multidisciplinary Taylor & Francis Library (SSH+S&T) contains about 2000 e-journals. Journals are available since 1997.
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Sisältää tieteellisiä lehtiä lääketieteen, luonnon-, yhteiskunta- ja humanististen tieteiden sekä tekniikan, biotieteiden ja kemian aloilta. Sisältää myös e-kirjoja ja hakuteoksia eri aloilta.Multidisciplinary. Technology, nature sciences, medicine. 1997-, about 1400 full text journals. Reference Works licensed perpetually.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Multidisclipinary databases that are often used for information searching

Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Scopus on monitieteellinen viittaus- ja tiivistelmätietokanta, joka kattaa tieteellisiä lehtiä yli 5000 kustantajalta sekä konferenssijulkaisuja, ammattilehtiä ja kirjasarjoja. Scopuksessa on hakumahdollisuus yli 24 miljoonasta patentista, Scopusta voi käyttää myös viittausanalyysiin.Scopus is a multidisciplinary reference and abstract database covering scientific journals from over 5000 publishers, conference proceedings, professional journals and book series. Scopus is searchable for over 24 million patents, and can also be used for citation analysis.
- This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Sisältää viitetietoja n. 2700 yhteiskuntatieteellisen alan merkittävimmistä julkaisuista. Tietokannan avulla voi myös tarkastella julkaistuihin artikkeleihin tehtyjen viittauksien määriä ja lehtien impact factor -lukuja. 2,700 journals across 55 social science disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals

Psychology database

PsycInfo (Ovid) This link opens in a new window American Psychiatric Association -järjestön ylläpitämä kansainvälinen psykologian ja sen lähialojen viitetietokanta. Viitteitä vuodesta 1806 alkaen.Maintained by American Psychiatric Association, and it provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. PsycInfo database features coverage beginning from 1806.
- This link opens in a new window

Remote access to e-resources

Access databases via Databases A-Z list or subject guides. Log in with tuni user account when prompted.
Log into the library's search service Andor with your tuni user account.
You can also download the Libkey Nomad browser extension. It will tell you when the article you found is available to you via the library. Log in with your tuni user account to gain access.

To access library materials via Google Scholar: Top left corner three bars ⇒ Settings ⇒ Library Links ⇒ search and select from the list Tampere University - TUNI Fulltext ⇒ save.

Contact us

Information Specialist Saija Tapio
library@tuni.fi
Give the library feedback
Library's opening hours and contact information

Andor search service

In Andor you can find information about library's printed collections and a vast collection of international e-resources. When searching for material for your thesis it is recommended that in addtion to searching in Andor, you'll also search the article databases on your field of science. Please note that Andor does not cover the content of all the other databases.

Andor search service This link opens in a new window Search service for both print and online library resources. Journals, articles, books, e-books.

Andor guide

Databases A-Z

Research methods database

SAGE Research Methods database contains tools and other materials regarding methods and how to conduct research (such as writing a literature review). Try the interactive Methods map or use the Project planner to map out your project.

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods sisältää kirjoja, hakuteoksia, lehtiartikkeleita ja videoita tutkimusmenetelmien aihealueilta. SAGE Research Methods contains books, reference works, articles and videos on research methods. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Can't find the article you need?

see alternative ways to access articles.
contact the Library's Interlibrary Services (there is a fee for this service).

Social sciences: Articles and databases