Books - Social sciences - Oppaat | Guides at Tampere University Library

E-books

You can find most of the library's e-books in Andor. If you want to you can seach in the e-book services own interface. There you can do more specific searches in the full text of ebooks. You can also browse the collections.

E-books can be read online or you can download them to your own device.

E-book collections

You can also search for ebooks directly in the ebook services. The advantage of doing this is that you are able to search in the full text of the books. Listed here are a few of the ebook collections you have access to via the library.

Ebook Central - Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Yhdenvertaisuutta, monimuotoisuutta ja inklusiivisuutta käsitteleviä e-kirjoja eri tieteenaloilta ja useilta eri kustantajilta. Kokoelma sisältää yli 18 000 kirjaa, jotka ovat käytössä Ebook Central -palvelussa. Over 18 000 e-books on the themes of diversity, equity and inclusion. The content is interdisciplinary and from many publishers and authors from all over the world. The collection is available on Ebook Central.
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities Ebook This link opens in a new window Humanististen tieteiden ja lähialojen e-kirjatietokanta. E-aineisto-oppaan Humanities ebook -ohjeet Humanities Ebook (HEB) is a digital collection of books in the humanities and related social sciences. E-resource guide's Humanities ebook instructions
- This link opens in a new window
Past Masters This link opens in a new window Humanististen alojen kokotekstiaineistoja. Tampereen korkeakouluyhteisön käyttöön ostettu: The Collected Works of John Dewey, The Collected Papers of Charles Sanders Peirce, Charles Sanders Peirce: Published Works I ja The Correspondence of John Dewey. Intelex antaa pääsyn myös muutamiin muihin kokotekstiaineistoihin. Full-text collections in the humanities. At Tampere Universities access to: The Collected Works of John Dewey, The Collected Papers of Charles Sanders Peirce, Charles Sanders Peirce: Published Works I ja The Correspondence of John Dewey. Also access to additional texts of major historical significance, at no additional cost.

Reference works

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries and reference works on many subject areas. Instructions: Guides - E-book guide.

Selected books from our collection

Have a look at theme collections in Andor, selected by our librarians. Themes include guides for writing theses, mental well-being and audio books.

Theme collections

Printed books

You can find the the location information (which of the library's service points the book is in, shelf number) for printed books in Andor. Books can be alphabetized in the shelves according to author's last name or book title, Andor will tell you this information also.

Library shelf numbers

Didn't find a book that you need?

Help us develop our collection and propose an acquisition

Interlibrary loan - borrow books from other libraries

If we don't have a particular book, you can request it as an interlibrary loan from other Finnish libraries. Please note that there is a fee for this service.

Finna - Finnish archives, libraries and museums
Remember to check the Tampere city library's collections!

How to evaluate books

Here are some things to consider when you use books as source material.

Publisher: Who is the publisher?

The Finnish Publication Forum classifies the book publishers (also journals, series, conferences)
University Presses publish mainly scientic publications.

Author: What do you know about the author?

Is the author a professor in highly valued university or what are the author’s credentials?
Does the author have authority in the field or topic

Content: Does it contain bibliography and in-text references?

Social sciences: Books