Resource types, acquisitions channels and terms of use
As a rule, we acquire the material in electronic form where this is possible under conditions of use appropriate to the organisation. We also complete our printed collections.
We acquire database-type e-resources mainly through the national consortium. We also acquire e-resources directly from publishers and vendors. For the acquisition of printed domestic and foreign books, as well as printed and e-journals, we use competitive vendors.
You can find information on E-resources and the terms of use in our E-resource guide. Printed materials are available to all customers, including visitors.
Databases
We acquire full-text databases, reference databases, film and video services, research tools and other electronic services.
We test the content suitability and technical functionality of new databases with fixed-period trials.
Journals
We aqcuire scientific journals, periodicals and newspapers.
A wide collection of Finnish newspapers is available through ePress service (only on campus network). We also order printed copies of key newspapers to the Library units.
The subscription period for journals and periodicals is calendar year. It might take few months after the acquisition requests to get access to the journal suggested.
Books
We acquire e-books from various e-book services according to availability.
License agreements define the terms of use, e.g. the number of simultaneous users.
For the general collection of printed books, we acquire deepening and expanding material from various fields, as well as novelties, basic works and classics from the fields.
For the general collection of printed books, we acquire materials that deepen and expand the understanding of different fields. Additionally, we acquire new books, reference works and classics.
If the requested book is already available as an e-book, we usually do not acquire a printed book.
We acquire, as a rule, one copy of each title for the general collection.
We acquire fiction primarily for Linna unit's fiction collection for degree programme needs. Fiction is also acquired in electronic form if available.
We acquire audiobooks specifically for course book needs according to availability.
Open access materials
Open access materials are available online free of charge to everyone, either freely or with few restrictions.
We select and critically evaluate open access materials for the library's collection and add them to our A-Z databases list and Andor.
Tampere University Library acquires course literature which belongs to the current degree program curriculums of Tampere University and Tampere University of Applied Sciences. Responsibility for requesting the required course books to the Library lies with the responsible teachers of the course units. Course book requests should be sent via course book form which is meant only for teachers and other staff.
Course book requests for the Licentiate Degree Programme in Medicine may be submitted to the Library as periodic literature lists.
We order primarily an e-book as a course book, if it is available with appropriate terms and conditions for organizational use. We supplement the purchase of e-books with printed books.
Printed course books are acquired on a sectoral basis, and they are located mainly in the library unit where they are required for teaching and exams.
We acquire sheet music for the needs of TAMK Music and the music education at the Linna unit.
We can acquire individual standards (IEC and ISO) to our SFS Online collection depending on the need. You'll find the purchase request for standards here: Purchase request form.
Our film and video resources are listed in our E-resources guide. We are not able to acquire individual films or videos for institutional use.
