Articles and databases - Medicine - Oppaat | Guides at Tampere University Library

Core databases

MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database with a concentration on biomedicine. Access Medline via Ovid or PubMed.

Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Lääke- ja terveystieteiden sekä lähialojen tärkein kansainvälinen tietokanta. Tietokannan tuottajana on National Library of Medicine.Medline is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. The database is produced by National Library of Medicine.
- This link opens in a new window
Medline (PubMed) This link opens in a new window Lääke- ja terveystieteiden sekä lähialojen keskeinen kansainvälinen tietokanta. Tietokannan tuottajana on National Library of Medicine. Medline is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. The database is produced by National Library of Medicine.
- This link opens in a new window

PubMed Online Training - NLM video tutorials National Library of Medicinen tekemät PubMed-opetusvideot ovat katsottavissa tämän linkin takana.
PubMed User Guide National Library of Medicinen opas PubMedin käyttöön.
A roadmap for searching literature in PubMed (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam) In this LibGuide you will to learn how to build and conduct a systematic search in PubMed. The following steps will be covered: Research question: formulate your research question and divide it into elements Logbook: develop and document your search strategy Collecting MeSH terms: find controlled search terms in PubMed Collecting free-text terms: collect terms and search in the title and abstract [tiab] of the record Truncation and Phrase searching: learn to use two search techniques Combining: use Boolean operators Filters: apply clinical queries and other search filters to refine your results Evaluating: evaluate your search results and modify your search strategy if necessary References: manage references and insert citations into a document Other resources: use other relevant literature databases to find more references
Training course: Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice When conducting research, evidence-based practice is a method for framing clinical questions that will help yield optimal search results. PubMed.gov is a free research tool from the National Library of Medicine®. This course will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed®
Medical Subject Headings MeSH Help: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/mbinfo.html

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The most important databases in the Library are Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) that contains information on systematic reviews undertaken by the Cochrane Collaboration, and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) that contains information on clinical trials, harvested from a variety of sources.

Cochrane Library (Terveysportti) This link opens in a new window Sisältää kolme säännöllisesti päivitettävää tietokantaa, mukaan lukien Cochrane-verkoston tuottamat järjestelmälliset katsaukset. Tietokannat tarjoavat korkeatasoista ja luotettavaa näyttöön perustuvaa tietoa terveydenhuollon päätöksentekijöille. Huomioithan, että Advanced Search toimii etäkäytössä ainoastaan mentäessä palveluun Terveysportin kautta.Contains three regularly updated databases, including systematic reviews produced by the Cochrane Network. The databases provide high quality and reliable evidence-based information for health care decision-makers. Please note that when off-campus, advanced search can be used by going first to Terveysportti and from there to Cochrane.
- This link opens in a new window

Printable Cochrane guide (© Tampere university library)

Complete Anatomy and Visible Body services are available as mobile applications. Visible Body can also be used on computers. You can find instruction in the e-resource guide.

Complete Anatomy
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Anatomian opetuksen ja oppimisen tueksi kehitetty mobiilisovellus.
A mobile application developed to support teaching and learning of anatomy.
Visible Body | Anatomy & Physiology This link opens in a new window Interaktiivinen 3D-anatomiatietokanta ja oppimistyökalu. IOS- ja Android-mobiililaitteille on tarjolla Anatomy & Physiology -sovellus, joka löytyy sovelluskaupoista. Interactive 3D learning tool and anatomy database planned for university purposes. There is an application available for IOS and Android mobile devices. The applications can be found in the application stores.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Visible Body | Human Anatomy Atlas This link opens in a new window Interaktiivinen 3D-anatomiatietokanta ja oppimistyökalu. IOS- ja Android-mobiililaitteille on tarjolla Human Anatomy Atlas -sovellus, joka löytyy sovelluskaupoista. An interactive 3D learning tool and anatomy database planned for university purposes. There are Human Anatomy Atlas applications available for IOS and Android mobile devices. The applications can be found in the application stores. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Visible Body | Muscle Premium This link opens in a new window Interaktiivinen 3D-anatomiatietokanta ja oppimistyökalu lihasten toiminnasta. IOS- ja Android-mobiililaitteille on tarjolla Muscle Premium -sovellus, joka löytyy sovelluskaupoista. An interactive 3D learning tool and anatomy database planned for university purposes. There are Muscle Premium applications available for IOS and Android mobile devices. The applications can be found in the application stores. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Visible Body | Physiology & Pathology This link opens in a new window Interaktiivinen 3D-tietokanta ja oppimistyökalu ihmisen elintoiminnosta, niiden häiriöistä ja yleisimmistä sairauksista. IOS- ja Android-mobiililaitteille on tarjolla Physiology & Pathology -sovellus, joka löytyy sovelluskaupoista. An interactive guide to core processes and common diseases of the human body. There are Physiology & Pathology application available for IOS and Android mobile devices. The applications can be found in the application stores. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

DynaMed Plus is a clinician-focused tool designed to facilitate efficient and evidence-based patient care.

DynaMed (Terveysportti) This link opens in a new window Erikoisalakohtainen, näyttöön perustuva tietokanta kliinisen päätöksenteon tueksi. A clinician-focused tool designed to facilitate efficient and evidence-based patient care.
- This link opens in a new window

Epistemonikos contains information on published systematic reviews. The contents of the database is harvested from a variety of sources, including MEDLINE and Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

ClinicalTrials.gov ClinicalTrials.gov on kansainvälinen käynnissä olevien kliinisten kokeitten rekisteri.
PROSPERO PROSPERO on kansainvälinen käynnissä olevien systemaattisten katsausten rekisteri.
Research Registry The Research Registry is a one-stop shop for registering all types of research studies, from ‘first in man’ case reports to observational/interventional studies to systematic reviews and meta-analyses. The process is easy, simple and take less than five minutes.
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform WHO ICTRP on kansainvälinen, käynnissä olevien kliinisten kokeitten metarekisteri. Pystyt yhdellä haulla etsimään tietoja usean eri maan rekisteristä.
ScanMedicine University of Newcastlen (UK) ylläpitämä hakukone, jolla voi etsiä käynnissä olevia kliinisiä kokeita useista rekistereistä samanaikaisesti. Lisätietoja: https://www.nihr.ac.uk/news/nihr-launches-innovative-searchable-database-of-global-clinical-trials/27660

Current Care guidelines Finnish clinical guidelines.
ECRI Guidelines Trust ECRI Guidelines Trust sisältää kansainvälisiä hoitosuosituksia. Käyttö edellyttää maksuttoman käyttäjätilin luomista. ECRI Guidelines Trust™ is a publicly available web-based repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other clinical specialties, and members of the healthcare community with up-to-date clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies.
Nationella riktlinjer Swedish clinical guidelines
NICE guidance Guidelines provided by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) in the UK.
Nursing Research Foundation (Hotus) Finnish nursing guidelines

Also see

DailyMed provides information about marketed drugs. The service is provided by National Library of Medicine (NLM).

LILACS includes health publications from Latin America and the Caribbean. LILACS is maintained and updated by a network consisting of over 600 educational, administrative and health research institutes. LILACS is coordinated by BIREME, PAHO, and WHO.

SveMed+ is a bibliographic database containing references to articles from Scandinavian journals in the subject areas of medicine, dentistry, healthcare, occupational therapy, nursing, and physiotherapy.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

DailyMed DailyMed provides information about marketed drugs. The service is provided by National Library of Medicine (NLM).
LILACS LILACS includes health publications from Latin America and the Caribbean. LILACS is maintained and updated by a network consisting of over 600 educational, administrative and health research institutes. LILACS is coordinated by BIREME, PAHO, and WHO.
SveMed+ SveMed+ is a bibliographic database containing references to articles from Scandinavian journals in the subject areas of medicine, dentistry, healthcare, occupational therapy, nursing, and physiotherapy.
Trip Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Databases in related fields

Interested in health economics? In addition to Medline, Cinahl, PsycInfo and social science databases, take a look at these databases with a focus in economics and health economics.

Cost-Effectiveness Analysis (CEA) Registry The CEA Registry is a comprehensive database of 10,002 cost-utility analyses on a wide variety of diseases and treatments published from 1976 to 2020.
Heoro Database of studies with a focus on burden of illness.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) NHS EED contains over 17,000 economic evaluations of health and social care interventions; the database ceased updating in 2015 and it is advisable to search major bibliographic databases (e.g. MEDLINE) for more recent economic evaluations.
ScHARRHUD ScHARRHUD is a free, searchable web-based resource. The database holds bibliographic details of studies reporting health state utility values (HSUVs). In addition ScHARRHUD is searchable by the names of health state valuation instruments used in each study. In providing this level of indexing, ScHARRHUD aims to make the retrieval of health utilities evidence both more efficient and effective. Whilst the focus of ScHARRHUD is on generic, preference-based measures, such as the EQ-5D, the database extracts and indexes the names of all instruments used in studies.
Health Evidence A database of 7,595 quality-rated reviews on the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data. Provided by McMaster University.
Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database The HTA Database contains reports of health technology assessments, published by members of The International Network of Agencies for Health Technology Assessment (INAHTA). HTA reports often contain an economic evaluation, and they are worth taking a look.
Research Papers in Economics (RePEC) RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 102 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components. RePEc is accessible via several search engines; IDEAS and EconPapers provide access to the whole RePEc database.

EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Taloustieteen keskeisiä lehtiä kokoteksteinä sekä 15 taloustieteen kirjaa. Tietokanta kattaa laajasti taloustieteen osa-alueet ja aineistoa löytyy muun muassa pääomamarkkinoista, ekonometriasta, ympäristötaloustieteestä ja työn taloustieteestä.EconLit with Full Text offers complete coverage of the economics field. The database includes full-text journals and 15 full-text books related to the subjects such as capital markets, econometrics, environmental economics and labor economics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Viitteitä ja tiivistelmiä terveyden, sosiaalityön, psykologian, sosiologian, talouden, politiikan rotusyrjinnän ja koulutuksen aloilta. The Reference database covers health, social services, economics, politics, race relations and education.
- This link opens in a new window

Social Care Online Social Care Online is the UK's largest online database of information on all aspects of social work and social care. It includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey (informally-published) literature, reports, and journal articles. The database is updated daily and contains over 160,000 records from the 1980s onwards.

Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Kattaa yhteiskuntatieteiden aihealueita, esim. sosiologiaa, sosiaalityötä, antropologiaa, poitiikan tutkimusta. Tietokanta sisältää pääosin kokotekstiartikkeleita yli 1000 lehdestäCovers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas. The database includes over 1000 titles.
- This link opens in a new window
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Sisältää viitteitä sosiaalityön ja sosiaalipalveluiden alalta. Kattaa myös mm. sosiaalihuollon ja sosiaalipolitiikan.Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas
- This link opens in a new window

Social Systems Evidence A continuously updated repository of syntheses of research evidence about the programs, services and products available in a broad range of government sectors and program areas (e.g., climate action, community and social services, economic development and growth, education, environmental conservation, education, housing and transportation) as well as the governance, financial and delivery arrangements within which these programs, services and products are provided, and the implementation strategies that can help to ensure that these programs, services and products get to those who need them.
more...less...
https://www.socialsystemsevidence.org/about?
Health Systems Evidence the world’s most comprehensive, continuously updated repository of systematic reviews and economic evaluations about governance, financial and delivery arrangements within health systems, and about implementation strategies that can support change in health systems. Provided by McMaster University.

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Sosiologian, sosiaalipolitiikan ja muiden yhteiskuntatieteiden kansainvälinen viitetietokanta. Sisältää lehtiartikkeliviitteiden lisäksi viitteitä konferenssijulkaisuihin.Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- This link opens in a new window

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Hoitotieteen ja hoitotyön sekä lähialojen kansainvälinen kokotekstitietokanta. Hoitotyö, biolääketiede, terveystieteiden alan kirjastotyö, täydentävät hoidot, kansanterveys ja 17 muuta terveysalan aihealuetta. Oman tilin luomiseen tarvitaan Tampereen korkeakouluyhteisön TUNI-käyttäjätunnus.CINAHL®Complete is source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.Tampere Universities community's TUNI account is needed for creating an own EBSCO account.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Tiedonlähteitä (lähinnä lehtiartikkeleita, väitöskirjoja ja tutkielmia) terveydenhuollon hallinnon aihealueilta, sisältäen mm. sairaaloihin, vakuutuksiin, lakeihin, tilastoihin hallintoon ja henkilöstöön liittyviä aiheita.A collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations. Covers information on a wide range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration.
- This link opens in a new window
JBI Complete (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Palvelu näyttöön perustuvan tiedon hakemiseen, arviointiin ja soveltamiseen terveydenhoitoalalle, suunniteltu tukemaan hoitokäytäntöjä ja kliinistä päätöksentekoprosessia. PACES- ja SUMARI-palveluihin on luotava käyttäjätili.A service to retrieve, evaluate and apply evidence-based information to healthcare designed to support treatment practices and clinical decision-making process. You must log in to use SUMARI and PACES.
- This link opens in a new window
Public Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Kansanterveystieteen ja lähialojen lehtiä.Database contains journals covering public health and related fields.
- This link opens in a new window

OTseeker OTseeker sisältää systemaattisia katsauksia ja satunnaistettuja kontrolloituja kokeita toimintaterapian saralta.
Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro) PEDro sisältää systemaattisia katsauksia, satunnaistettuja kontrolloituja kokeita ja hoitosuosituksia fysioterapian ja kuntoutuksen saralta.

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Kasvatustieteen kansainvälinen tietokanta, joka sisältää viitteitä englanninkielisistä aikakauslehtiartikkeleista ja amerikkalaisista tutkimusraporteista kasvatuksen ja koulutuksen alalta vuodesta 1966 alkaen.The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Materials available from 1966.
- This link opens in a new window

PsycInfo (Ovid) This link opens in a new window American Psychiatric Association -järjestön ylläpitämä kansainvälinen psykologian ja sen lähialojen viitetietokanta. Viitteitä vuodesta 1806 alkaen.Maintained by American Psychiatric Association, and it provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. PsycInfo database features coverage beginning from 1806.
- This link opens in a new window

Video: APA PsycInfo on Ovid

Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Scopus on monitieteellinen viittaus- ja tiivistelmätietokanta, joka kattaa tieteellisiä lehtiä yli 5000 kustantajalta sekä konferenssijulkaisuja, ammattilehtiä ja kirjasarjoja. Scopuksessa on hakumahdollisuus yli 24 miljoonasta patentista, Scopusta voi käyttää myös viittausanalyysiin.Scopus is a multidisciplinary reference and abstract database covering scientific journals from over 5000 publishers, conference proceedings, professional journals and book series. Scopus is searchable for over 24 million patents, and can also be used for citation analysis.
- This link opens in a new window

Scopus tutorials Scopus tutorials provide a visual guide to using the product.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Viitetietokantoja, joissa on artikkelitietojen lisäksi tietoa artikkelien saamista viittauksista. Web of Science sisältää Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index ja Arts & Humanities Citation Index -tietokannat. Sisältää myös Journal and Highly Cited Data -aineiston, joka kattaa Journal Citation Reports ja Essential Science Indicators -aineistot Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Also includes Journal and Highly Cited Data, which covers Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators -resources. Also Derwent innovation index, Journal citations reports, Essential science indicators, Incites.
- This link opens in a new window

Preprint services

MedRxiv medRxiv (pronounced "med-archive") is a free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information. medRxiv is for the distribution of preprints that are complete but unpublished manuscripts describing health research. Research articles, systematic reviews and meta-analyses, clinical research design protocols and data articles may be posted. medRxiv is not intended for case reports, narrative reviews, editorials, letters, opinion pieces and hypotheses that lack data, laboratory protocols/recipes, theses, term papers, textbook excerpts or individual components of research articles such as figures, tables, and datasets.
Preprints.org Preprints is a platform dedicated to making early versions of research outputs permanently available and citable. We post original research articles and comprehensive reviews, and papers can be updated by authors at any time. Content on Preprints is not peer-reviewed and can receive feedback from readers.

Databases A-Z

Alternative access to full texts

Browser extensions and other options for faster access to full texts

Remote access to e-resources

Access databases via Databases A-Z list or subject guides. Log in with tuni user account when prompted.
Log into the library's search service Andor with your tuni user account.
You can also download the Libkey Nomad browser extension. It will tell you when the article you found is available to you via the library. Log in with your tuni user account to gain access.

To access library materials via Google Scholar: Top left corner three bars ⇒ Settings ⇒ Library Links ⇒ search and select from the list Tampere University - TUNI Fulltext ⇒ save.

Contact us

Information specialists
- Sari Mäkelä (teaching)
- Johanna Nummi (resources)
library@tuni.fi
Give feedback
Library opening hours and contact details

Medicine: Articles and databases