Media, art, communication and journalism: Other sources

More tips:

• Orbis: how to use tips  (University Library of Southern Denmark)
• Statista: You can also access a selection of 'how to' video tutorials from Statista
• Statista training hub
• Statista video tutorials

SAGE Research Methods database contains tools and other materials regarding methods and how to conduct research (such as writing a literature review). Try the interactive Methods map or use the Project planner to map out your project.

Read about statistics at Statistics Finland website:

• Statistics Finland

Other statistics:

• Eurostat: Statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
• International statistics:The selection includes free data sources of the most important and reliable international organisations and communities.
• .International trade statistics (Finnish Customs) International trade statistics provide information on the goods trade between Finland and the other EU member states and third countries
• UNESCO Statistics Cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.

You can use different types of open data in your studies. This open data can be interviews, questionnaires, statistics, or measurements or language corpuses. You can use different types of open data as part or your thesis or research. Open data can be found through various search portals.

• Aila Data Service – Research data deposited in the Finnish Social Science Data Archive (FSD), with extensive metadata both in Finnish and in English.
• Etsin – Research data finder, which contains descriptive information (metadata). Part of the Fairdata Services.
• Avaa – Open research data portal. Provided by the Ministry of Education and Culture.
• GitHub – Service for opening and sharing code
• The Language Bank Fin-Clarin –  A comprehensive text and speech corpora. Basic use is free for academic researchers and students.
• Paituli spatial data service – Includes datasets from following data providers: Finnish Meteorological Institute, National Land Survey, Traffic Agency, Agency for rural affairs, Statistics Finland and Finnish Environment Institute (SYKE). Part of Avaa research data portal.
• Zenodo – Open data archive, fuelled by CERN and OpenAIRE

In ImagOA - Open Science and Use of Images Guide you will find information about (for example)

• how to cite images  
• a selection of image databases
• Creative Commons licenses
• permitted uses of images in theses, teaching material etc.
• how to use images in social media
• photographs as personal information  

• EUR-Lex database covers the legal information on European Union: official journal, treaties, legislation, legislation in preparation, case-law, parliamentary questions, documents of public interest, preparation of enlargement.
• FINLEX is a freely accessible database of Finnish legislation. The texts are mainly in Finnish and in Swedish.
• Library of Parliament