Journals - Mathematics and Statistics - Oppaat | Guides at Tampere University Library

Finding journals

If you are looking for a particular journal:

Go to Andor's e-journal list
If you don't find the journal, contact the Library's customer service

Andor journal search

International E-journals

You'll find the list of e-journals in Andor. You can browse the journals by discipline.

You may also browse the journals in databases:

MathSciNet (AMS) This link opens in a new window MathSciNet on matematiikan alan tietokanta sekä sähköinen versio Mathematical Reviews -lehdestä. Tietokanta sisältää viite- ja viittaustietoja artikkeleista, kirjoista ja lehdistä 1800-luvun alusta alkaen. Lisäksi löytyy mm. asiantuntija-arvioita artikkeleista ja kirjoista. Osasta viitteistä on linkit kokoteksteihin. MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
- This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MathSciNet on matematiikan alan tietokanta sekä sähköinen versio Mathematical Reviews -lehdestä. Tietokanta sisältää viite- ja viittaustietoja artikkeleista, kirjoista ja lehdistä 1800-luvun alusta alkaen. Lisäksi löytyy mm. asiantuntija-arvioita artikkeleista ja kirjoista. Osasta viitteistä on linkit kokoteksteihin. MathSciNet® is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
- This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window Yli 2200 lehteä matematiikan, fysiikan, kemian, lääke-, luonnon-, ympäristö-, geo-, insinööri-, tietojenkäsittely-, taloustieteiden ja humanististen tieteiden aloilta. Sisältää myös kirjaston hankkimia e-kirjoja erityisesti tekniikan, lääketieteen ja luonnontieteiden aloilta. Multidisciplinary. Technology, nature sciences, medicine, business, social sciences. +2200 full text journals, +41 000 books and reference works.
- This link opens in a new window

Examples of international journals in the field

Journal examples

Journal of the ACM
Journal of Algebra
Linear Algebra and Its Applications
Distributed Computing

Useful journals for bachelor and master level math students:

American Mathematical Monthly
International Journal of Mathematical Education in Science and Technology
Mathematics Magazine
Mathematical Intelligencer
College Mathematics Journal
Mathematics Teacher
PRIMUS (Problems, Resources, and Issues in Mathematics Undergraduate Studies)

Printed journals

You'll find both trade journals and academic journals in library's printed collections in Linna Library, Hervanta Library and TAMK main campus Library. Information about printed journals can be found in Andor database. However, most of the academic journals are subscribed as e-journals.

Andor search service This link opens in a new window
Search service for both print and online library resources. Journals, articles, books, e-books.

Newspapers

You'll find some newspapers in University library.

Alma Talent Arkisto This link opens in a new window Alma Talent Lehtiarkisto ja Media-arkisto yhdistyivät 1.1.2022 Alma Talent Arkistoksi. ARKISTOON SISÄLTYVÄT LEHDET: Iltalehti, Kauppalehti, Arvopaperi, Arvoasunto #, Energia #, Fakta, Markkinointi&Mainonta #, Mediuutiset, Metallitekniikka #, Mikrobitti, MikroPC #, Platinum #, Talouselämä, Tekniikka&Talous, Tekniikan Historia #, Tietoviikko / Tivi, Tekninen Uratie # #=sisältö ei enää päivity Arkisto sisältää artikkelit tekstimuodossa. Uuden lehden artikkelit päivitetään arkistoon saman tai seuraavan päivän aikana.
- This link opens in a new window

Printed newspapers

Kuvalehtilukupaikalta

How to evaluate journals?

Cabells This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cabells service supports the evaluation of scientific journals. The service includes a Journalytics section which contains essential information on over 11 000 journals and a Predatory Reports section with information about journals whose scientific value and publication processes are questionable.
Julkaisufoorumi This link opens in a new window
The Publication Forum (Julkaisufoorumi, JUFO) is the Finnish qualitative classification of scientific journals, publication series and book publishers in all fields of science.
The classification levels: 0= evaluated but do not meet all of the level 1 criteria; 1 = basic; 2 = leading; 3 = top.
Myös nimellä: JUFO
Journal Citation Reports (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Impact Factor (IF) is the average number of citations received by an article in a given journal. Journal Citation Reports (JCR) database includes IFs for 2 and 5 year periods.
Koostuu kahdesta osasta:
Science Edition kattaa yli 7 300 tieteen ja tekniikan alan lehteä. Social Science Edition kattaa yli 2 200 lehteä humanistis-yhteiskuntatieteelliseltä alalta.

Provides a systematic, objective way to determine the relative importance of journals within their subject categories. Science Edition: natural sciences, medicine and technology. Social Sciences Edition: social sciences, psychology, economics, educational sciences.

Read more about journal impact

Mathematics and Statistics: Journals