Although generative AI applications like ChatGPT or Microsoft Copilot are not currently suitable for scientific information retrieval, there are several different applications where AI is used specifically for article searches. These AI applications can be used to support information retrieval, but they do not replace thorough information searches.
Most of these tools do not have access to full-text articles; instead, they base their responses on titles and abstracts. Therefore, it is important to always read and refer to full-text sources.- Many AI tools store the data you upload into the underlying software. Generally speaking:
- Do not upload materials from library resources, such as databases. This violates copyright and license agreements.
- Do not upload your own sensitive or private documents, as another user may gain access to your information.
- If you use AI applications, remember to mention it. Check the guidelines of Tampere Universities and any publisher's instructions on the use and citation of AI tools.
Here are a few tools suitable for academic information retrieval. NOTE! The services presented below are not organization-licensed and trial and use of the services is at your own risk. Remember information security (see. Artificial intelligence (AI) and information security). Please also note that services may become chargeable or disappear.
Free applications
- Semantic Scholar
- The search is like a word search on Google Scholar.
- Displays article references and tries to find, not only the most referenced articles, but also the most relevant ones. It also offers article recommendations based on the articles selected by the user.
- Suitable for users who are interested in filtering and sorting search results and saving articles for new article recommendations.
- So far freely available. Once logged in, you will have access to more features.
- Research Rabbit
- You can start using the tool by adding one good article to the collection. The tool generates recommendations based on your collection using titles, abstracts and other metadata of the articles.
- Research Rabbit visualises the networks formed between publications. You can move forward on the map, creating new publication networks including authors and sources. The tool helps to find new connections between a certain phenomenon being studied and the researchers.
- Requires you to create a login, it is freely available. It is possible to link with Zotero reference management tool.
Free and paid version of the application
- Keenious
- A tool that uses an existing text as a basis for information retrieval. It searches for articles on the same topic based on an existing article or other text.
- In addition to the article search, Keenious generates a subject list, which it interprets as related to the text that was fed to it. Based on this, the searcher can refine his/her search further.
- This tool can be used not only on a webpage, but also via a Word or Google docs plug-in.
- A free and a paid version are available. No login is required to use the service, but logging in provides access to more features. The limits of the free version are quickly reached.
- Litmaps
- Creates a bibliographic map with data from a single publication or, alternatively, from multiple publications using BibTeX/RIS files.
- Litmaps shows the relationships between scientific articles in a dynamic network graph format. It makes suggestions for articles based on the relationships between articles, which helps you to find articles outside keywords.
- Free and paid versions are available with differences in the number of articles and maps. No login is required to use the service, but logging in provides access to more features.
- Elicit
- This tool searches and summarises scientific articles based on a given research question or an article. On the search results page, Elicit does not display the number of results (like traditional search services) but shows the top seven most relevant articles.
- Elicit also provides other tools for academic work helping you to formulate your research question, analyse articles and draft abstracts.
- Starting to use the service is free, but registration is required, and free usage is limited. The service becomes chargeable once a certain amount of usage is exceeded. The amount of use determines the price.
