Searching open access resources - Student's guide to responsible and open science - Oppaat

Finnish open access repositories and services

Journal.fi This link opens in a new window
Tieteellisten seurain valtuuskunnan tarjoamassa palvelussa kotimaiset tieteelliset seurat voivat toimittaa ja julkaista lehtiään.
The service, provided by the Federation of Finnish Learned Societies, allows Finnish scientific societies to submit and publish their journals.
Julkari This link opens in a new window Sosiaali- ja terveysministeriön hallinnonalan yhteinen avoin julkaisuarkisto. Julkari on vapaasti käytettävissä ja monista julkaisuista on saatavilla pdf-versio. Julkari toimii Terveyden ja hyvinvoinnin laitoksen osalta myös julkaisurekisterinä. Sosiaali- ja terveysministeriön julkaisut ovat Valtossa (Valtioneuvoston julkaisuarkisto) haettavissa Finnassa. Vanhimmat julkaisut ovat viitetietoina mukana Eduskunnan kirjaston kautta sekä Melindassa että Finnassa. The shared open repository for the publications of the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health's administrative branch organisations. Many of the publications are freely accessible as PDFs. Julkari also serves as the Finnish Institute of Health and Welfare’s (THL) publications register. Publications from the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health are available in Finna with Valto (Institutional Repository for the Government). The oldest publications are included as reference information through the Library of Parliament in both Melinda and Finna.
VALTO Valtioneuvoston julkaisuarkisto - Institutional Repository for the Government This link opens in a new window Sisältää ministeriöiden julkaisusarjoissa ilmestyvät julkaisut PDF-muodossa vuoden 2016 alusta alkaen sekä osittain myös tätä vanhempia julkaisuja. Includes the publication series of all Finnish ministries in pdf-format from the beginning of 2016 and some publications that date further back

digi.kansalliskirjasto.fi
Digital collections of The National Library of Finland.

Finnish search service - Finna

Finna This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Finna.fi-palvelusta löydät museoiden, kirjastojen, arkistojen ja muiden yhteistyöorganisaatioiden aineistoja. Monipuolisilla hakutoiminnoilla miljoonien aineistojen äärelle pääset helposti ja nopeasti. Finna.fi tarjoaa myös valikoituja sisältöjä eri käyttötarkoituksiin.

Finna is home to Finnish cultural and science resources. Finna is composed of the Finna.fi search service, which brings all the resources together, and hundreds of other Finna search services.

Theses of the Tampere Higher Education Community

Trepo This link opens in a new window Trepo on Tampereen yliopiston avoin julkaisuarkisto. Trepo sisältää Tampereen yliopiston avoimia julkaisuja: yliopiston henkilökunnan kirjoittamien tieteellisten artikkeleiden rinnakkaistallenteita ja yliopiston muita avoimia julkaisuja sekä opinnäytteitä. Tampere University Pressin Open Access -kirjat ovat Trepossa omana TUP OA Books -kokoelmanaan. Trepo is the open institutional repository of Tampere University. Trepo includes open access publications of Tampere University: self-archived articles and other open publications of the Tampere University staff as well as theses of the University. The Open Access books of Tampere University Press will be published on Trepo portal in the TUP OA Books collection.
Theseus This link opens in a new window Theseus tarjoaa käyttöösi Suomen ammattikorkeakoulujen opinnäytetöitä sekä julkaisuja verkossa. Voit tutustua ammattikorkeakouluista valmistuneiden opinnäytetöihin sekä ammattikorkeakoulujen julkaisutoimintaan kokonaisuudessaan ja hyödyntää niitä vaikkapa omassa tutkimus- tai kehittämistyössäsi. Theseus gives you online access to theses and publications from Finnish Universities of Applied Sciences. You can read and utilise entire theses and publications in your own research and development work - or just get acquainted with those.
- This link opens in a new window

Theses elsewhere in Finland

Thesis from other Finnish universities in electronic form can be found in each university's own institutional repository.

Preprint archives

A research article can be published openly at the preprint stage, before it is peer-reviewed and published in an academic journal. The advantages of preprint archives include speed of publication, access to recent research results, open access and wider visibility of articles, and feedback from other experts.

arXiv This link opens in a new window Fysiikan, matematiikan, tietojenkäsittelytieteen, kvantitatiivisen biologian ja rahoituksen, tilastotieteen, sähkötekniikan ja taloustieteiden avoin julkaisuarkisto.Open access to e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics.
- This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window Viitetietokanta että julkaisuarkisto, joka sisältää viitteitä filosofian alan tutkimuskirjallisuuteen ja artikkeleihin. A comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles,  offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
- This link opens in a new window

bioRxiv Preprint server for biology.
medRxiv Preprint server for health sciences.
SocArXiv Yhteiskunta- ja sosiaalitieteiden preprinttejä ym. Open archive of the social sciences.
OSF Preprints
Portaali, joka kokoaa yhteen eri alojen preprint-arkistoja.
A portal that brings together preprint archives from different disciplines.

More preprint and other repositories

Browser extensions to search for open articles

Browser extensions (add-ons) help you find openly available versions of articles. Most add-ons work in different browsers (Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Internet Explorer, etc.). For example, you can download one of the ones below.

LibKey Nomad LibKey Nomad on selainlaajennus, joka auttaa sinua löytämään artikkeleiden avoimesti saatavilla olevia versioita. Kun olet lisännyt laajennuksen, valitse organisaatioksi Tampereen yliopiston kirjasto. Näin saat avattua myös kirjaston tarjoamat, muuten maksulliset, artikkelit. Libkey Nomad is a browser extension that helps you to find articles that are available through the library or available for free. After installing the browser extension you will be asked the institution you use. Find "Tampere University Library" from the list and you are ready to use Libkey Nomad.
Unpaywall Unpaywall auttaa sinua löytämään avoimesti saatavilla olevia versioita artikkeleista. Kun laajennus on käytössä, näet viitteiden yhteydessä vihreän avoimen lukon symbolin, jos artikkeli on avoimesti saatavilla. Get full text of scholarly articles as you browse. Unpaywall automatically looks for a free, legal fulltext PDFs. Click the green tab to read the article.
Google Scholar Button Voit hakea artikkeleita Google Scholarista valitsemalla tekstin miltä tahansa verkkosivustolta ja napsauttamalla Google Scholar Button -painiketta. Kun olet napsauttanut painiketta, näet kolme keskeisintä Google Scholarista saatua tulosta ja loput löydät napsauttamalla koko näytön symbolia avatun ikkunan alareunassa. Tuetut selaimet: Google Chrome, Firefox, Safari. This extension adds a browser button for easy access to Google Scholar from any web page.
OAButton Klikkaamalla OAbuttonia voit avata artikkelin suoraan, jos se on saatavilla, tai saat apua kysyäksesi sitä kirjoittajalta.Tuetut selaimet: Google Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Safari, Internet Explorer.

Search engines for open scholarly resources

BASE - Bielefeld Academic search engine BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 100 million documents from more than 5,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Googlen tuottama hakukone, joka hakee tietoja tieteellisistä ja akateemisista verkkotiedonlähteistä. Scholarissa esiintyy satunnaisesti yliopistosta riippumatonta ongelmaa. Lue ohjeet e-aineisto-oppaasta. Google's search engine, which indexes data of scholarly literature online. There is an intermittent problem with Google Scholar giving an error message. Please check the e-resource guide.
- This link opens in a new window

Theses from around the world

DART-Europe E-theses Portal This link opens in a new window Tietokanta eurooppalaisissa arkistoissa olevista sähköisistä opinnäytetöistä, jotka ovat avoimia eli ne ovat julkisesti saatavilla kokonaisuudessaan ja maksutta. A database of electronic research theses held in European repositories. The theses listed are open access - publicly available, in full, without charge.
DiVA portal This link opens in a new window Ruotsalaisten yliopistojen ja tutkimuslaitosten väitöskirjoja, opinnäytteitä, raportteja ja muita julkaisuja.A Swedish portal for research publications and student theses.
EBSCO Open Dissertations (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Vapaasti luettavia opinnäytteitä ja väitöskirjoja eri puolilta maailmaa. Sisältää American Doctoral Dissertations -tietokannan. Includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world.
- This link opens in a new window

How to identify predatory journals or publishers?

If you want to check the reliability of a journal, you can check its details in JUFO and/or the Cabells database, for example.

More information on the reliability of sources and tools to support evaluation:

JUFO portal

Cabells This link opens in a new window Palvelu tieteellisten lehtien evaluointiin. Palveluun kuuluvat Cabells Journalytics (ent. Cabells Journal Whitelist) ja Cabells Predatory list (ent. Journal Blacklist).A service for the evaluation of scientific journals. The service includes Cabells Journalytics (formerly Cabells Journal Whitelist) and Cabells Predatory list (formerly Journal Blacklist).
- This link opens in a new window

How to evaluate the reliability of an open book?

More information on Federation of Finnish Learned Societies' peer-reviewed label.

Open Educational Resources

Are you looking for support for your learning, your studies or do you want to develop your skills? You can make use of various open libraries of learning materials, where you can search for materials by subject, discipline or type of material.

Library of Open Educational Resources
In the Library of Open Educational Resources, you can search for and share open educational resources (OER) from all levels of education. The service and its OERs are available for use by teachers, learners and everyone else. OER is being developed by the Ministry of Education and Culture and the Finnish National Agency for Education
MERLOT MERLOT:in (Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching) oppimateriaalien sivustoa ylläpitää California State University.

Kuva: Pixabay

Student's guide to responsible and open science: Searching open access resources

What are open access publications?