Open education and open educational resources: Find and Share OER

In the Library of Open Educational Resources - aoe.fi , you can search for and share open educational resources (OER) from all levels of education. The service and its OERs are available for use by teachers, learners, and everyone else.

The OERs can also be found in Finna.fi, which gathers materials from museums, libraries, and archives under one roof. The Library of Open Educational Resources is being developed by the Ministry of Education and Culture and the Finnish National Agency for Education, and its development is coordinated by CSC – IT Center for Science. Visit the further information page for more information.

• OER Commons

  A search engine that covers OER for higher education as well as K-12. Be sure to use the filter menu on the results page to narrow the types of material you're interested in.

• MERLOT

The system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners, and researchers.

• Mason OER Metafinder

  Simultaneously search several OER and open access repositories with this single search box from George Mason University. An excellent place to see a wide variety of types of resources. Allows for searching full records for terms, whereas OASIS does not.

• OASIS OER Metafinder

  Simultaneously search many OER and open access repositories with this metal finder from SUNY. An excellent place to see a wide variety of types of resources.

How to find: more information in the library teacher's guide

• DOAB is the most extensive critical directory of scientific Open Access books. For those who are interested in OA publishing, DOAB contains a useful listing of subject areas also including information about the publishers.
• Edition.fi contains Finnish Monographs and Edited Volumes Online

• Oapen offers an extensive, critical directory of Open Access monographs. The list of Top subjects provides useful information on subjects and contact information of various publishers.
• Open Access eBooks on JSTOR contains openly accessible academic monographs, mainly in the field of humanities and social sciences.Each book carries one of six Creative Commons licenses determined by the publisher.
• InTech Open Access Bookscontains openly accessible monographs, mainly in the field of physical sciences, engineering and technology, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
• B.C Open Textbook Collection Multidisciplinary
• Open Textbook Library Multidisciplinary
• Milne Open Textbooks (previously Open SUNY Textbooks) Multidisciplinary
• Physics World Discovery (IOPscience)

Tampere University Press (TUP) is an Open Access publisher of peer-reviewed academic books focusing on social and human sciences. TUP books are immediately openly available in the Trepo Repository and the OAPEN Library , for example, and are also indexed in the Directory of Open Access Books TUP does not collect Book Processing Charges for open access publishing.

• DOAJ  is the most extensive critical directory of scientific Open Access journals. For those interested in OA publishing, DOAJ includes a useful listing of subject areas.
• Persee.fr offers an open and free of charge access to several publications in French in the fields of humanities and social sciences.
• EZB Elektronische Zeitschriftbibliotek - Electronic Journals Library
• Journal.fi - Finnish scholarly journals online

Open science and use of images: ImagOA by Aalto University: A guide on the use, licensing, and retrieving of open images.

• Creative Commons search engine
  • Creative Commons has created a metasearch engine where you can search for CC-licensed material
• Europeana
  • Europeana contains digital material from European museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual collections.
  • Art, objects, books, video and sound.
• Flickr
  • contains a large number of CC-licensed images
• Google Images/Advanced Search
  • search engine for finding photos and other images
  • select advanced image search link
  • problematic search because it looks for the CC-licence from the whole site, not from the image metadata
     
• Pixapay
  • images and videos
• YouTube
  • some of the material is defined by the CC-licence

• DigiCampus

  • DigiCampus is a higher education development project funded by the Ministry of Education and Culture. The project has created a digital cloud learning environment for higher education institutions to support year-round study opportunities. 

• Coursera
  • large library of MOOCs, some of which have material freely licensed for re-use.
• MERLOT
  • is a free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials
  • one of the biggest repositories to find and share teaching resources