Books - Linguistics - Oppaat | Guides at Tampere University Library

E-books

You can find most of the library's e-books in Andor. If you want to you can seach in the e-book services own interface. There you can do more specific searches in the full text of ebooks. You can also browse the collections.

E-books can be read online or you can download them to your own device.

E-book collections

E-books can be found in Andor. Besides, you can also search for e-books directly in the e-book services. The advantage of doing this is that you can make more specific searches since you can search in the full text of the books. Browsing based on your interests is also convenient. Below you will find a list of e-book collections suitable for linguistics.

Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Monitieteinen e-kirjatietokanta, joka sisältää Academic Complete, Open Access Complete, Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion -kokoelmat sekä yksittäin ostettuja e-kirjoja. E-aineisto-oppaan Ebook Central -ohjeet Multidisciplinary e-book service which includes Academic Complete, Open Access Complete, Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion collections and individual e-books purchases.. E-resource guide's Ebook Central instructions
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Monitieteinen e-kirjatietokanta. E-aineisto-oppaan EBSCO eBooks -ohjeet Multidisciplinary e-book service. E-resource guide's EBSCO eBooks instructions
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities Ebook This link opens in a new window Humanististen tieteiden ja lähialojen e-kirjatietokanta. E-aineisto-oppaan Humanities ebook -ohjeet Humanities Ebook (HEB) is a digital collection of books in the humanities and related social sciences. E-resource guide's Humanities ebook instructions
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central - Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Yhdenvertaisuutta, monimuotoisuutta ja inklusiivisuutta käsitteleviä e-kirjoja eri tieteenaloilta ja useilta eri kustantajilta. Kokoelma sisältää yli 18 000 kirjaa, jotka ovat käytössä Ebook Central -palvelussa. Over 18 000 e-books on the themes of diversity, equity and inclusion. The content is interdisciplinary and from many publishers and authors from all over the world. The collection is available on Ebook Central.
- This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window Monitieteinen e-kirjatietokanta. E-aineisto-oppaan Taylor & Francis eBooks-ohjeet Multidisciplinary e-book service. E-resource guide's Taylor & Francis eBooks instructions
- This link opens in a new window
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window Monitieteinen e-kirjatietokanta. E-aineisto-oppaan VLeBooks-ohjeet Multidisciplinary e-book service. E-resource guide's VLeBooks instructions
- This link opens in a new window
Past Masters This link opens in a new window Humanististen alojen kokotekstiaineistoja. Tampereen korkeakouluyhteisön käyttöön ostettu: The Collected Works of John Dewey, The Collected Papers of Charles Sanders Peirce, Charles Sanders Peirce: Published Works I ja The Correspondence of John Dewey. Intelex antaa pääsyn myös muutamiin muihin kokotekstiaineistoihin. Full-text collections in the humanities. At Tampere Universities access to: The Collected Works of John Dewey, The Collected Papers of Charles Sanders Peirce, Charles Sanders Peirce: Published Works I ja The Correspondence of John Dewey. Also access to additional texts of major historical significance, at no additional cost.
OAPEN - Open Access Publishing in European Networks This link opens in a new window OAPEN on verkkokirjasto ja julkaisualusta. OAPEN edistää ja tukee siirtymistä akateemisten kirjojen avoimeen saatavuuteen tarjoamalla avoimia infrastruktuuripalveluja sidosryhmille tieteellisessä viestinnässä. OAPEN is an online library and publication platform. OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication.

Onleihe Goethe-institutin digitaalinen kirjasto. Ladattavissa on saksankielisiä e-kirjoja tai äänikirjoja, saksaa opiskeleville tarkoitettua materiaalia, aikakaus- ja sanomalehtiä sekä elokuvia.

Archives and classics

Literature Online - LION (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Kirjallisuudentutkimuksen tietokanta, joka sisältää englanninkielistä runoutta, näytelmiä ja proosaa kokoteksteinä. Lisäksi tietokanta sisältää lehtiartikkeleita, elämäkertoja, hakuteoksia sekä multimediaa. E-aineisto-oppaan LION-ohjeet Online resource of language and literature, including criticism and reference. Collection of English language poetry, prose and drama. Also audio and video collections. E-resource guide’s LION instructions
- This link opens in a new window
EEBO - Early English Books Online (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Palvelu sisältää englanninkielistä kirjallisuutta vuosilta 1470-1700. Aineisto kattaa Englannissa, Irlannissa, Skotlannissa, Walesissa ja englanninkielisessä Pohjois-Amerikassa ao. ajankohtana julkaistun kirjallisuuden. E-aineisto-oppaan EEBO-ohjeet EEBO features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. E-resource guide's EEBO instructions
- This link opens in a new window
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window ECCO-tietokannasta käytössä 135 000 (part 1) englanninkielistä teosta 1700-luvulta digitoituina kokoteksteinä. E-aineisto-oppaan ECCO-ohjeet Access to 135 000 titles (part 1) published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. E-resource guide's ECCO instructions
- This link opens in a new window
Library of Latin Texts Online This link opens in a new window Library of Latin Texts (LLT) on maailman laajin latinankielisten tekstien tietokanta. Se sisältää tekstejä kaikilta aihealueilta ja aikakausilta. Tekstit ovat peräisin mm. sarjasta Corpus Christianorum. Library of Latin Texts (LLT) is the world’s leading database for Latin texts. It gathers Latin texts of all genres and all periods. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.
- This link opens in a new window
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The series is gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature through original text and English translation: epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, and oratory etc.

Google Books

Reference works

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries and reference works on many subject areas. Instructions: Guides - E-book guide.

Printed books

You can find the the location information (which of the library's service points the book is in, shelf number) for printed books in Andor. Books can be alphabetized in the shelves according to author's last name or book title, Andor will tell you this information also.

Library shelf numbers

Didn't find a book that you need?

Finna This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The collections of Finnish archives, libraries and museums.

PIKI
Tampere City Library's collections

Interlibrary loan - borrow books from other libraries

If we don't have a particular book, you can request it as an interlibrary loan from other Finnish libraries. Please note that there is a fee for this service.

Acquisition request

Help us develop our collection and propose an acquisition

How to evaluate books

Here are some things to consider when you use books as source material.

Publisher: Who is the publisher?

The Finnish Publication Forum classifies the book publishers (also journals, series, conferences)
University Presses publish mainly scientic publications.

Author: What do you know about the author?

Is the author a professor in highly valued university or what are the author’s credentials?
Does the author have authority in the field or topic

Content: Does it contain bibliography and in-text references?

Linguistics: Books