See also - Linguistics - Oppaat | Guides at Tampere University Library

Corpora

British National Corpus Online corpora by the English-Corpora.org
American English Dialect Recordings The Center for Applied Linguistics Collection contains 118 hours of recordings documenting North American English dialects.
Corpus Inventory Corpora at Stanford University.
Sketch engine
Subscribed by the Unit of Language Studies until 3/2025.
Log in: Choose Institutional login and Tampere University and log in with you Tuni account.

Legislative databases

Finlex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
FINLEX is a freely accessible database of Finnish legislation. The texts are mainly in Finnish and in Swedish.
EUR-Lex This link opens in a new window EUR-Lex tietokanta sisältää kokotekstinä Euroopan unionin virallisen lehden ja mm. perussopimukset, lainsäädännön, oikeuskäytännön sekä lainsäädännön valmisteluasiakirjoja. Eur-Lex database covers the legal information on European Union: official journal, treaties, legislation, legislation in preparation, case-law, parliamentary questions, documents of public interest, preparation of enlargement.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Käyttämällä palvelua hyväksyt LexisNexis/Nexis Uni tietosuojalausekkeen. LexisNexis edellyttää kirjaston laittavan esille tietosuojalausekkeen. Tietokanta sisältää uutisia, lakitietoa, yritys-, toimiala- ja liike-elämätietoa sekä henkilötietoja ympäri maailmanBy using LexisNexis you accept their GPDR, please see: LexisNexis/Nexis Uni GDPR principle LexisNexis requires library to present their GDPR principle. Database includes full text documents in news, legal and business information.
- This link opens in a new window

Statistics

Eurostat This link opens in a new window Euroopan yhteisöjen tilastokeskuksen Eurostatin sivusto, johon Eurostat kerää tilastotietoja Euroopan unionin jäsenvaltioiden kansallisilta tilastokeskuksilta. Eurostat www-page covers statistics published by Eurostat (EU Statistical Office).
StatFin (Statistics Finland) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statfin is a trilingual (Finnish, Swedish and English) online service offering statistical information about Finland.
More Info
Statista This link opens in a new window Laaja tilastoportaali, joka sisältää yli 1,5 miljoonaa tietoaineistoa yli 80 000 aiheesta. Portaali sisältää tilastoja, tutkimustietoa, markkinatietoa ja tietoa kulutuskäyttäytymisestä. Portaali kerää ja koostaa tilastotietoja yli 22 500 erilaisesta lähteestä ympäri maailmaa. Tilastot voi ladata itselleen jatkokäyttöön. Statista webinar hub The statistics portal for market data, market research and market studies offers over 1.5 million statistics and facts on more than 80,000 topics drawn from over 22,500 different sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. Statista also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports and digital market outlooks. 
- This link opens in a new window

Centre for Gender Equality Information

Centre for Gender Equality Information
The Gender Equality website offers updated, research-based information on gender equality. The website supports decision-making, the promotion of gender equality, the supervision of gender equality policy and the implementation of citizens' rights.

Centre for Gender Equality Information in Finland, operating under the Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare (THL), is a national information service that provides information related to gender equality and gender studies.

Research data management

Data managment guidelines for students
Are you collecting data for you research? If yes, read these guidelines.

Using open data in your studies

You can use different types of open data in your studies. This open data can be interviews, questionnaires, statistics, or measurements or language corpuses. You can use different types of open data as part or your thesis or research. Open data can be found through various search portals.

Aila Data Service – Research data deposited in the Finnish Social Science Data Archive (FSD), with extensive metadata both in Finnish and in English.
Etsin – Research data finder, which contains descriptive information (metadata). Part of the Fairdata Services.
Avaa – Open research data portal. Provided by the Ministry of Education and Culture.
GitHub – Service for opening and sharing code
The Language Bank Fin-Clarin – A comprehensive text and speech corpora. Basic use is free for academic researchers and students.
Paituli spatial data service – Includes datasets from following data providers: Finnish Meteorological Institute, National Land Survey, Traffic Agency, Agency for rural affairs, Statistics Finland and Finnish Environment Institute (SYKE). Part of Avaa research data portal.
Zenodo – Open data archive, fuelled by CERN and OpenAIRE

Linguistics: See also