Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open access resources
Many scientific journals, books and databases require a subscription and are thus behind the paywall. On this page, you will find resources that are freely available to all.
Open e-books and publishers
- DOAJ is the most extensive critical directory of scientific Open Access books. For those who are interested in OA publishing, DOAB contains a useful listing of subject areas also including information about the publishers.
- Oapen offers an extensive, critical directory of Open Access monographs. The list of Top subjects provides useful information on subjects and contact information of various publishers.
- Open Access eBooks on JSTOR contains openly accessible academic monographs, mainly in the field of humanities and social sciences.Each book carries one of six Creative Commons licenses determined by the publisher.
- InTech Open Access Bookscontains openly accessible monographs, mainly in the field of physical sciences, engineering and technology, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
- B.C Open Textbook Collection Multidisciplinary
- Open Textbook Library Multidisciplinary
- Milne Open Textbooks (previously Open SUNY Textbooks) Multidisciplinary
- Physics World Discovery (IOPscience)
Tampere University Press (TUP)
Finnish collection databases
Andor search service This link opens in a new window
Search service for both print and online library resources. Journals, articles, books, e-books.
Finna This link opens in a new window
Finna.fi-palvelusta löydät museoiden, kirjastojen, arkistojen ja muiden yhteistyöorganisaatioiden aineistoja. Monipuolisilla hakutoiminnoilla miljoonien aineistojen äärelle pääset helposti ja nopeasti. Finna.fi tarjoaa myös valikoituja sisältöjä eri käyttötarkoituksiin.
Finna is home to Finnish cultural and science resources. Finna is composed of the Finna.fi search service, which brings all the resources together, and hundreds of other Finna search services.
Open Access repositories can be either institutional e.g Trepo or subject-based e.g. arXiv, RePec. Institutional repositories provide access to institutional research output and articles produced by the members of an institution or an university. Subject-based repositores focus on articles and other research outputs published in a specific discipline. You can find more repositories from these services:
- BASE - Multidisciplinary repository
- CORE - Multidisciplinary repository
- OpenAIRE - Multidisciplinary repository
- PubMed Central - Repository for biomedical and life sciences
- Zenodo - Multidisciplinary repository, includes also research data.
What are preprint repositories
Preprint repositories contain scientific articles that haven't been peer reviewed yet. The repositories can be either subject based or multidisciplinary. They may also contain other additional material such as data associated with an article.
Many publishers and funders have also launched their own preprint repositories (e.g. F1000 Research, Gates Open Research, Lancet, MDPI, Peer J, Springer Natue, Wellcome and Wiley).
- arXiv Physics, astronomy, computer science and mathematics
- ASAPbio Biology and environmental sciences
- bioRxiv Biology and environmental sciences
- ChemRxiv Chemistry
- ECSarXiv Electrochemistry, solid state science, technology
- engrXiv Engineering, biochemical, biomolecular engineering
- Figshare Multidisciplinary
- medRxiv Medical and health sciences
- OSF Preprints Multidisciplinary
- PsyArXiv Psychology, life sciences, neuroscience
- RePEc Economics
- SAE MobilityRxiv® Mobility and transportation
- ScienceOpen Preprints Multidisciplinary
- SocArXiv Social sciences
- SSRN Multidisciplinary.
- TechRxiv Electrical engineering, computer science, and technology
- Julkari is the open repository for the publications of the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health's administrative branch organisations
- Jukuri is the open repository of the Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke)
- Valto is the open repository of Finnish Government
- VATT is the open repository of Institute for Economic Research
- VTT is the institutional repository repository for Technical Research Centre of Finland
- Väylävirasto is the institutional repository for Finnish Transport Infractructure Agency.