Reference works and dictionaries - Regional studies and Urban development - Oppaat

Online dictionaries

Dictionaries can be either descriptive or translation dictionaries. The Library also has several specialized dictionaries focused on a particular field. Translations can be found in MOT Dictionaries.

MOT Kielipalvelu This link opens in a new window MOT Kielipalvelu sisältää yleiskielen ja erikoisalojen sanakirjoja, MOT Kääntäjän, MOT Kielentarkistimen, sanalistoja sekä Tampereen korkeakouluyhteisön sanaston. E-aineisto-oppaan MOT Kielipalvelu -ohjeet Käännösjärjestelmää ei saa käyttää henkilötietoja sisältävien tai muiden salassa pidettävien dokumenttien kääntämiseen. MOT Kielipalvelun tietosuojaseloste/privacy notice MOT Kielipalvelu contains MOT Dictionaries, MOT Translator, MOT Proofing, word lists and Tampere University vocabulary. E-resource guide's MOT Kielipalvelu instructions The service should not be used to translate personal data or other confidential documents.
- This link opens in a new window

Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus Definitions of words and synonyms, antonyms and idioms.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window Sanakirjapalvelu, joka sisältää tietoa englannin kielessä esiintyvien sanojen ja fraasien merkityksestä, historiasta, ääntämisestä ja käytöstä eri aikoina. Palvelua päivitetään neljä kertaa vuodessa. Guide to the meaning, history, and usage of 500,000 words and phrases past and present, from across the English-speaking world. OED is updated four times a year to include revisions to existing entries as well as add new words.
- This link opens in a new window

Thesauri

A thesaurus is a controlled vocabulary that gathers and connects related concepts. For example, Finto is a Finnish thesaurus and ontology service with multiple subject-specific vocabularies.

Finto - suomalainen asiasanasto- ja ontologiapalvelu This link opens in a new window Finto.fi on avoin palvelu yhteentoimivuutta edistävien sanastojen, ontologioiden ja luokitusten julkaisua ja käyttöä varten. Palvelu sisältää muun muassa yleisen suomalaisen asiasanaston (YSA) sekä suomenkielisen käännöksen lääketieteellisestä tesauruksesta (FinMeSH). Finto.fi is an open service for the publication and use of vocabularies, ontologies and classifications with an objective to promote interoperability. The service includes e.g. General Finnish thesaurus (YSA) and Medical Subject Headings (FinMeSH).
TEPA-termipankki This link opens in a new window TEPA-termipankin sanasto⁠t, sanakirja⁠t ja termitietokannat sisältävät yli 355 000 termitietuetta, joissa on erikoisalojen termejä ja määritelmiä. TEPAn yleisimmät kielet ovat suomi, ruotsi, englanti ja saksa. Sanastokeskus TSK:n ylläpitämässa termipankissa on sekä Sanastokeskuksen että muiden asiantuntijoiden laatimia aineistoja, ja sen käyttö on ilmaista. TEPA is a free-of-charge term bank maintained by the Finnish Terminology Centre TSK (Sanastokeskus TSK) containing special language terms and definitions in cirka 355 000 terminological entries. TEPA contains vocabularies, dictionaries and terminological databases compiled by both TSK and other experts. The most common languages in TEPA are Finnish, Swedish, English and German.
SFS Online (etäkäyttö, remote access) This link opens in a new window SFS Online -palvelun etäkäyttö. Kirjaudu palveluun Tuni-tunnuksellasi. Voit käyttää mitä tahansa selainta julkaisujen etsimiseen, mutta PDF-tiedostot eivät toimi selaimessa vaan ne tulee avata Adobe Readeriin. E-aineisto-oppaan SFS Online-ohjeet Login with you TUNI ID. You can use any browser for searching but you have to open PDFs with Adobe Reader. E-resource guide’s SFS Online instructions
- This link opens in a new window
SFS Online (kampusverkossa, campus network access) This link opens in a new window Elektronisessa muodossa olevat suomen- ja englanninkieliset SFS-standardit eri tieteenaloilta. Kokoelma sisältää myös sähköalan standardit sekä valikoiman IEC- ja ISO-standardeja. Palvelu avautuu ajoittain hitaasti. Yllä oleva osoite toimii vain kampusverkossa. Etäkäyttöosoite: Katso SFS Online (etäkäyttö), linkki: https://online.sfs.fi/auth/edu.html.stx E-aineisto-oppaan SFS Online-ohjeet SFS standards in Finnish and English and a selection of ISO and IEC standards. Use the url address above in campus network. Service opens slowly from time to time. For remote access, see SFS Online (etäkäyttö, remote access): https://online.sfs.fi/auth/edu.html.stx. Please login with your TUNI ID. E-resource guide’s SFS Online instructions
- This link opens in a new window

Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus Definitions of words and synonyms, antonyms and idioms.
ProQuest - Thesaurus list The following thesauri are available for your currently selected database(s). Note that many thesauri are database-specific, and may limit your search results to documents from those databases. ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering Copper Thesaurus Engineered Materials Thesaurus Life Sciences thesaurus (subjects) Metallurgical Thesaurus NASA Thesaurus Pollution Controlled Vocabulary (English) Taxonomic Terms (Latin Names of Organisms Vocabulary) Technology Terms

Reference works

Reference works can be general or subject-specific: encyclopedias and handbooks act as systematic introductions to a particular field or topic, and they tend to contain concise basic information.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Oxford University Pressin sanakirjoja ja hakuteoksia eri aloilta. E-aineisto-oppaan Oxford Reference -ohjeet Dictionaries and reference works on many subject areas. E-resource guide's Oxford Reference instructions
- This link opens in a new window