Dictionaries can be either descriptive or translation dictionaries. The Library also has several specialized dictionaries focused on a particular field. Translations can be found in MOT Dictionaries.
Reference works can be general or subject-specific: encyclopedias and handbooks act as systematic introductions to a particular field or topic, and they tend to contain concise basic information.
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia, 10th ed by
A thesaurus is a controlled vocabulary that gathers and connects related concepts. For example, Finto is a Finnish thesaurus and ontology service with multiple subject-specific vocabularies.
Materials Science and Technology
Materials Science and Technology : essential reference offering access to a veritable compendium of information covering the most important classes of materials found in industry, including:
metals
ceramics
glasses
polymers
semiconductors
composites
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
The Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology, 4th Edition, with a Foreword by Dr. Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, Carnegie
Mellon University, presents over 400 articles, written and reviewed by specialists from all over the world, and serves as a
unique source of reference to the entire field of polymer science and technology.
Smithells Metals Reference Book
by
Smithells is the only single volume work which provides data on all key apsects of metallic materials. Smithells has been in continuous publication for over 50 years. This 8th Edition represents a major revision. Four new chapters have been added for this edition. these focus on; * Non conventional and emerging materials - metallic foams, amorphous metals (including bulk metallic glasses), structural intermetallic compounds and micr/nano-scale materials. * Techniques for the modelling and simulation of metallic materials. * Supporting technologies for the processing of metals and alloys. * An Extensive bibliography of selected sources of further metallurgical information, including books, journals, conference series, professional societies, metallurgical databases and specialist search tools. * One of the best known and most trusted sources of reference since its first publication more than 50 years ago * The only single volume containing all the data needed by researchers and professional metallurgists * Fully updated to the latest revisions of international standards
Biopolymers Online
Characterization of Materials
It covers materials characterization techniques ranging from the more mature mechanical, thermal and electrical testing
methods to those state-of-the-art beam-based methods employed at large scientific user facilities around the world. The ever
increasing role of computation to predict and understand materials properties is supported by an updated chapter on
computational and theoretical methods as well
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Springer Handbook of Nanotechnology
by
Since 2004 and with the 2nd edition in 2006, the Springer Handbook of Nanotechnology has established itself as the definitive reference in the nanoscience and nanotechnology area. It integrates the knowledge from nanofabrication, nanodevices, nanomechanics, Nanotribology, materials science, and reliability engineering in just one volume. Beside the presentation of nanostructures, micro/nanofabrication, and micro/nanodevices, special emphasis is on scanning probe microscopy, nanotribology and nanomechanics, molecularly thick films, industrial applications and microdevice reliability, and on social aspects. In its 3rd edition, the book grew from 8 to 9 parts now including a part with chapters on biomimetics. More information is added to such fields as bionanotechnology, nanorobotics, and (bio)MEMS/NEMS, bio/nanotribology and bio/nanomechanics. The book is organized by an experienced editor with a universal knowledge and written by an international team of over 150 distinguished experts. It addresses mechanical and electrical engineers, materials scientists, physicists and chemists who work either in the nano area or in a field that is or will be influenced by this new key technology.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
