The use of printed newspapers and the newspaper reading room collection has significantly decreased and the newspaper reading room will cease to operate at the beginning of 2024.
A comprehensive range of newspapers is available as microfilms or in print from the National Library of Finland, and newspapers from the Pirkanmaa region are also available from the local collection of Tampere City Library. The microfilms of Aamulehti and Helsingin Sanomat (1980–2016) will be available on the 3rd floor of the Library's Linna unit. The transfer will take place at the turn of the year.
Most of the journals will also be available electronically through the National Library's Tutkain project with the university community's IDs, and the openly accessible newspapers can be read using the visitor computers at the Library units.
The newspaper reading room will be open until 15.1.2024, after which newspapers will be widely available as microfilms or in print from the National Library. Newspapers from the Pirkanmaa region can also be found in the local collection of Tampere City Library.
Microfilms of the Aamulehti (since 1881) and Helsingin Sanomat (1980-2016) will be available on the 3rd floor of the Library's Linna unit. The transfer of the microfilms will take place at the turn of the year.
Most of the journals will also be available electronically through the National Library's Tutkain project from their digital collection with the university community ID. The freely available journals digitised by the National Library can be accessed locally on visitor computers at the Library units.
A large collection of newspapers and their older volumes can be found in the Library's newspaper collection. It is located on the City centre campus, floor 0 of the Main building, along with the Newspaper Reading Room. The collection includes the most important domestic daily newspapers.
The collection is closed to customers and the newspapers must be ordered separately. The ordered newspapers are brought for reading to the Newspaper Reading Room located above the collection, where newspapers can be studied freely in accordance with the opening hours of the building. Newspapers may not be taken out of the reading room.
The most prestigious magazines in the collection include: Aamulehti, Helsingin Sanomat, Turun Sanomat, Ilta-Sanomat and Iltalehti. A few newspapers are in the collection from the beginning of the 20th century to this day.
The journals are ordered via the a web form or with a paper order form that is left in the reading room, or just by calling the customer service. The customer servant is present three days a week, Monday afternoons (12-15), and Wednesday and Friday mornings (9-12).
In the reading room there are two microfilm readers in addition to the copier, one of which is capable of scanning articles from microfilm to computer. From a computer, scans can either be printed or stored on a usb memory stick. If user guidance is needed for the copier and the microfilm equipment, please ask the customer servant during service hours.
The newspaper collection currently has an ongoing subscription to the following newspapers: Aamulehti, Demokraatti, Financial Times, Frankfurter Allgemeine, Helsingin Sanomat, Hämeen Sanomat, Ilkka, Kansan Uutiset, Kaleva, Karjalainen, Keskisuomalainen, Kymen Sanomat, Lapin kansa, Maaseudun Tulevaisuus, Nykypäivä, Pohjalainen, Savon Sanomat, Suomenmaa, Tamperelainen, Tekniikka & Talous, Turun Sanomat. These newspapers are received and added to the collection by months, or half a month folders, depending on the thickness of the paper.
Arvo
Hervanta
Linna
TAMK Mediapolis
TAMK Main Campus
ePress service provides a comprehensive selection of domestic newspapers and local magazines, as well as an archive of up to two years. In addition to Aamulehti and Helsingin Sanomat, the most prominent provincial newspapers can be found.
You can only read ePress at computers on campus area and on Eduroam wireless network.
