Mechanical Engineering and Automation: Books

You can find most of the library's e-books in Andor. E-books can be read online or you can download them to your own device. Loan period is usually 1-14 days.

If you can't find the book you need or if you cannot access a book that is in the collections, contact the Library's customer service.

You can also search for ebooks directly in the ebook services. The advantage of doing this is that you are able to search in the full text of the books. Listed here are a few of the ebook collections you have access to via the library.

Reference works can be general or subject-specific: encyclopedias and handbooks act as systematic introductions to a particular field or topic, and they tend to contain concise basic information.

• Systems and software engineering - Vocabulary (ISO/IEC/IEEE 24765)

You can find the the location information (which of the library's service points the book is in and the shelf number) for printed books in Andor. Books can be alphabetized in the shelves according to author's last name or book title, Andor will tell you this information also.

• Finna - Finnish archives, libraries and museums
• Remember to check the Tampere city library's collections!

Interlibrary loan - borrow books from other libraries

If we don't have a particular book, you can request it as an interlibrary loan from other Finnish libraries. Please note that there is a fee for this service.

Here are some things to consider when you use books as source material.

Publisher: Who is the publisher?

• The Finnish Publication Forum classifies the book publishers (also journals, series, conferences)
• University Presses publish mainly scientic publications.

Author: What do you know about the author?

• Is the author a professor in highly valued university or what are the author’s credentials?
• Does the author have authority in the field or topic

Content: Does it contain bibliography and in-text references?