Reference works and dictionaries - Game studies & game development - Oppaat

Reference works

When doing searches in databases, remember there are tools for making your searches more precise. For example, EbscoHost includes database-specific terminology (see subject terms and thesaurus). Finnish databases normally use terminlogy found in YSO . For international databases LCSH Library of Congress subject headings is a good tool.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Oxford University Pressin sanakirjoja ja hakuteoksia eri aloilta. E-aineisto-oppaan Oxford Reference -ohjeet Dictionaries and reference works on many subject areas. E-resource guide's Oxford Reference instructions
- This link opens in a new window
YSO - Yleinen suomalainen ontologia This link opens in a new window YSO on kolmikielinen, etupäässä yleiskäsitteistä koostuva ontologia.
Finto - suomalainen asiasanasto- ja ontologiapalvelu This link opens in a new window Finto.fi on avoin palvelu yhteentoimivuutta edistävien sanastojen, ontologioiden ja luokitusten julkaisua ja käyttöä varten. Palvelu sisältää muun muassa yleisen suomalaisen asiasanaston (YSA) sekä suomenkielisen käännöksen lääketieteellisestä tesauruksesta (FinMeSH). Finto.fi is an open service for the publication and use of vocabularies, ontologies and classifications with an objective to promote interoperability. The service includes e.g. General Finnish thesaurus (YSA) and Medical Subject Headings (FinMeSH).
TEPA-termipankki This link opens in a new window TEPA-termipankin sanasto⁠t, sanakirja⁠t ja termitietokannat sisältävät yli 355 000 termitietuetta, joissa on erikoisalojen termejä ja määritelmiä. TEPAn yleisimmät kielet ovat suomi, ruotsi, englanti ja saksa. Sanastokeskus TSK:n ylläpitämässa termipankissa on sekä Sanastokeskuksen että muiden asiantuntijoiden laatimia aineistoja, ja sen käyttö on ilmaista. TEPA is a free-of-charge term bank maintained by the Finnish Terminology Centre TSK (Sanastokeskus TSK) containing special language terms and definitions in cirka 355 000 terminological entries. TEPA contains vocabularies, dictionaries and terminological databases compiled by both TSK and other experts. The most common languages in TEPA are Finnish, Swedish, English and German.
ACM Computing Classification System (CCS) This link opens in a new window
Classification system for the computing field (2012)

Dictionaries from our collections

A Dictionary of Computer Science by Andrew Butterfield (Editor); Gerard Ekembe Ngondi (Editor); Anne Kerr (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199688975
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
A dictionary of the Internet
ISBN: 9780191884276
Dictionary of Media and Communication by Chandler Daniel & Munday Rod
ISBN: 0192578936
Publication Date: 2020

Dictionaries

MOT Kielipalvelu This link opens in a new window MOT Kielipalvelu sisältää yleiskielen ja erikoisalojen sanakirjoja, MOT Kääntäjän, MOT Kielentarkistimen, sanalistoja sekä Tampereen korkeakouluyhteisön sanaston. E-aineisto-oppaan MOT Kielipalvelu -ohjeet Käännösjärjestelmää ei saa käyttää henkilötietoja sisältävien tai muiden salassa pidettävien dokumenttien kääntämiseen. MOT Kielipalvelun tietosuojaseloste/privacy notice MOT Kielipalvelu contains MOT Dictionaries, MOT Translator, MOT Proofing, word lists and Tampere University vocabulary. E-resource guide's MOT Kielipalvelu instructions The service should not be used to translate personal data or other confidential documents.
- This link opens in a new window

Merriam-Webster dictionary & thesaurus

Writing in English?

UW-Madison Writer's Handbook

UNC Writing Center Handouts

Purdue Online Writing Lab

How to Write by Alastair Fowler
ISBN: 9780199278503
Publication Date: 2007
Grammar for Dummies: 1,001 Practice Questions (+ Free Online Practice) by Geraldine Woods
ISBN: 9781118744741
Publication Date: 2014-04-08
English Grammar Essentials for Dummies by Wendy M. Anderson; Geraldine Woods; Lesley J. Ward
ISBN: 9781118493298
Publication Date: 2013

Game studies & game development: Reference works and dictionaries

Reference works

Dictionaries from our collections

Dictionaries

Writing in English?