Architecture: Images and other sources

In ImagOA - Open Science and Use of Images Guide you will find information about (for example)

• how to cite images  
• a selection of image databases
• Creative Commons licenses
• permitted uses of images in theses, teaching material etc.
• how to use images in social media
• photographs as personal information  

• Creative Commons Search
• Flickr Creative Commons Search
• Google's advanced image search
• Wikimedia Commons

Before using material made available through these databases, please read their terms and conditions of use.

Map and spatial data services

• E-services of National Land Survey of Finland
• MapSite - National Land Survey of Finland
• Old maps over Finland - National Land Survey of Finland
• PaITuli spatial data service
• Paikkatietoikkuna - National geographic information portal

Other resources

• Tampere City open data service
• The Finnish Meteorological Institute open data 
• Finnish Transport Infrastructure Agency open data
• Finnish Transport and Communications Agency open data
• Statistics Finland open data

Before using material made available through these databases, please read their terms and conditions of use.  

Finnish resources: museums, libraries and archives

• Alvar Aalto Foundation Online exhibitions
• Finna Image Search- Finnish archives, museums and libraries
• Finnish Architecture Navigator
• Finnish National Gallery
• Helsinkikuvia.fi
• National Board of Antiquities picture collections - including architectural history
• Raami - Aalto University
• Siiri - museums in Tampere and Pirkanmaa

International visual resources: museums, libraries and archives

• British Museum
• Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
• Europeana - European archives, museums and libraries
• Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
• Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)
• New York Public Library Digital Gallery
• New York Public Library Public Domain Collections
• RIBApix - British Architectural Library
• Rijksmuseum
• State Hermitage Museum
• The Metropolitan Museum of Art

Other international visual resources

• ArchInform
• Arcspace Image Library
• Art Historical Images of Sculpture and Architecture from Pre-Historic to Post-Modern
• Asian Historical Architecture
• Cities and Buildings Database
• Cities around the World
• Great Buildings Collection
• Web Gallery of Art

• Arkkinen- On health care environment
• ICE Virtual Library
• The National Building Code of Finland

Read about statistics at Statistics Finland website:

• Statistics Finland

Other statistics:

• Eurostat: Statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions
• International statistics:The selection includes free data sources of the most important and reliable international organisations and communities 
• International trade statistics (Finnish Customs): International trade statistics provide information on the goods trade between Finland and the other EU member states and third countries 
• UNESCO Statistics: Cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.

• EUR-Lex database covers the legal information on European Union: official journal, treaties, legislation, legislation in preparation, case-law, parliamentary questions, documents of public interest, preparation of enlargement.
• FINLEX is a freely accessible database of Finnish legislation. The texts are mainly in Finnish and in Swedish.
• Library of Parliament