Dictionaries

Dictionaries can be either descriptive or translation dictionaries. The Library also has several specialized dictionaries focused on a particular field. Translations can be found in MOT Dictionaries.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window Sanakirjapalvelu, joka sisältää tietoa englannin kielessä esiintyvien sanojen ja fraasien merkityksestä, historiasta, ääntämisestä ja käytöstä eri aikoina. Palvelua päivitetään neljä kertaa vuodessa. Guide to the meaning, history, and usage of 500,000 words and phrases past and present, from across the English-speaking world. OED is updated four times a year to include revisions to existing entries as well as add new words.
- This link opens in a new window

IATE - InterActive Terminology for Europe Terminology database of institutions of European Union. Includes 1,4 million multilingual records

MOT Kielipalvelu This link opens in a new window On the campus network MOT Kielipalvelu operates without logging in. Outside of campus log in with your tuni account OR subscribe to the email link to access the service anywhere at www.sanakirja.fi. You can order the login link at https://www.sanakirja.fi/korkeakouluille. Please use your tuni email address. Instructions: Guides - E-resource guide.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Thesauri

A thesaurus is a controlled vocabulary that gathers and connects related concepts. For example, Finto is a Finnish thesaurus and ontology service with multiple subject-specific vocabularies.

Finto - suomalainen asiasanasto- ja ontologiapalvelu This link opens in a new window Avoin palvelu yhteentoimivuutta edistävien sanastojen, ontologioiden ja luokitusten julkaisua ja käyttöä varten. Palvelu sisältää muun muassa yleisen suomalaisen asiasanaston (YSA) sekä suomenkielisen käännöksen lääketieteellisestä tesauruksesta (FinMeSH).An open service for the publication and use of vocabularies, ontologies and classifications with an objective to promote interoperability. The service includes e.g. General Finnish thesaurus (YSA) and Medical Subject Headings (FinMeSH).
TEPA Termipankki | TEPA Term Bank This link opens in a new window TEPA-termipankin sanasto⁠t, sanakirja⁠t ja termitietokannat sisältävät yli 355 000 termitietuetta, joissa on erikoisalojen termejä ja määritelmiä. TEPAn yleisimmät kielet ovat suomi, ruotsi, englanti ja saksa. Sanastokeskus TSK:n ylläpitämässa termipankissa on sekä Sanastokeskuksen että muiden asiantuntijoiden laatimia aineistoja, ja sen käyttö on ilmaista.TEPA is a free-of-charge term bank maintained by the Finnish Terminology Centre containing special language terms and definitions in cirka 355 000 terminological entries. TEPA contains vocabularies, dictionaries and terminological databases compiled by both TSK and other experts. The most common languages in TEPA are Finnish, Swedish, English and German.
SFS Online (etäkäyttö, remote access) This link opens in a new window SFS Online -palvelun etäkäyttö. Kirjaudu palveluun Tuni-tunnuksellasi. Elektronisessa muodossa olevat suomen- ja englanninkieliset SFS-standardit eri tieteenaloilta. Kokoelma sisältää myös sähköalan standardit sekä valikoiman IEC- ja ISO-standardeja.  SFS standards in Finnish and English and a selection of ISO and IEC standards. Login with you TUNI ID. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SFS Online This link opens in a new window Elektronisessa muodossa olevat suomen- ja englanninkieliset SFS-standardit eri tieteenaloilta. Kokoelma sisältää myös sähköalan standardit sekä valikoiman IEC- ja ISO-standardeja. Tämä osoite toimii vain kampusverkossa. Etäkäyttöosoite: Katso SFS Online (etäkäyttö), linkki: https://online.sfs.fi/auth/edu.html.stx SFS standards in Finnish and English and a selection of ISO and IEC standards. Use the url address above in campus network. For remote access, see SFS Online (etäkäyttö, remote access): https://online.sfs.fi/auth/edu.html.stx. Please login with your TUNI ID. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus Definitions of words and synonyms, antonyms and idioms.
ProQuest - Thesaurus list The following thesauri are available for your currently selected database(s). Note that many thesauri are database-specific, and may limit your search results to documents from those databases. ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering Copper Thesaurus Engineered Materials Thesaurus Life Sciences thesaurus (subjects) Metallurgical Thesaurus NASA Thesaurus Pollution Controlled Vocabulary (English) Taxonomic Terms (Latin Names of Organisms Vocabulary) Technology Terms

Writing in English?

UW-Madison Writer's Handbook

UNC Writing Center Handouts

Purdue Online Writing Lab

How to Write by Alastair Fowler
ISBN: 9780199278503
Publication Date: 2007
Grammar for Dummies: 1,001 Practice Questions (+ Free Online Practice) by Geraldine Woods
ISBN: 9781118744741
Publication Date: 2014-04-08
English Grammar Essentials for Dummies by Wendy M. Anderson; Geraldine Woods; Lesley J. Ward
ISBN: 9781118493298
Publication Date: 2013

Reference works

Reference works can be general or subject-specific: encyclopedias and handbooks act as systematic introductions to a particular field or topic, and they tend to contain concise basic information.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Oxford University Pressin sanakirjoja ja hakuteoksia eri aloilta.Dictionaries and reference works on many subject areas. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Politics: Dictionaries

Dictionaries

Thesauri

Writing in English?

Reference works