Skip to main content

Submitting and publishing your thesis: Submitting your thesis / TAMK

1. Submitting an electronic thesis

Tampere Universities recommends that you submit your thesis in the Theseus Open Repository in PDF/A format. If there are several authors to the thesis, one of you can take care of the actual submission, but all names must be mentioned in the author fields. We recommend you to use IE (Internet Explorer) as a browser.

This has to happen while your TAMK passwords are still valid. You can ask for temporary reactivation of your passwords from Helpdesk it-helpdesk@tuni.fi

Your thesis will be published in Theseus after a short processing time.

Convert your thesis into PDF/A, an archive-quality form (see the guide). The pdf file should be named like this: Last name_First name.pdf. If there are several authors, the file is named Last name_First name_Last name_First name.pdf. No Scandinavian letters or diacritical marks can be used the file name.

If you have problems with attaching enclosures to the thesis in PDF file, you can attach them separately when saving the thesis in Theseus. The recommended maximum size is 150 MB.

If you submit your thesis in Theseus you don’t have to submit any separate archive copy.

2. Submitting a printed thesis

Thesis in covers

If you do not wish to submit your thesis in electronic form, you can submit a printed version to the library. The text is printed on one side of the paper only.

You can buy the official cover at the TAMK main campus in the CampusShop (Teiskontie lobby) or at the CampusRavita café when the shop is closed. The bookbinding machine can be found near the CampusShop.

Agreement

Note that you also have to fill in an electronic agreement.

Archive copy

You have to submit an electronic archive copy of your thesis if the thesis is in printed format. Archive copy in PDF/A format is submitted by using Funet FileSender. Instructions and link to Funet is in intra: https://intra.tuni.fi/en/handbook/2677/2691/3346. Please send the file to thesis@tuni.fi. Please, don't change the expiry date. Archive copy must be submitted to the library before you can graduate.

General

TAMK's instructions for submitting your thesis can be found in Study Guide..

You can contact the library in any matters concerning thesis submission by e-mail thesis@tuni.fi or by visiting at the library service counter.

Please note that you will not obtain your degree certificate before you have submitted the thesis to the library.

An accepted thesis is a public document.

  • Your thesis can't include any secret information. Possible secret or otherwise separate material will not be archived by TAMK.
  • Thesis must be written so that it is public in every aspect.
  • Thesis will become public after it has been accepted.

 
There are two alternatives. You can choose to
1. Submit the electronic version of your thesis to Theseus Open Repository OR
2. Submit the printed version to the library

Fine Art Theses

If your thesis consists of paintings, photographs, videos, installations or other works of art you should submit a written documentation of the artistic work. Written part of the thesis is submitted electronically in Theseus Open Repository (max 150 MB in PDF/A format) or is delivered to the library in printed format. Check the instructions above 1. Submitting an electronic thesis or 2. Submitting a printed thesis. Copy of the artistic part of the thesis is also submitted in electronic format if possible.