Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research impact and visibility: Publications and CV

Publications and other research outputs

Take care and maintain that your own publication data is up to date in the research information system of Tampere University (TUNICRIS). Then you can use the tools of the system and automatically create a list of publications for yourself.

Also, keep your ORCID profile up-to-date.

Template for researcher's curriculum vitae and List of publications

Template for researcher's curriculum vitae

The Finnish Advisory Board on Research Integrity (TENK), Universities Finland UNIFI and the Rectors' Conference of Finnish Universities of Applied Sciences Arene ry and the Academy of Finland have together drafted a model curriculum vitae that complies with good scientific practice. This model CV for researchers aims to provide guidelines for drafting an appropriate CV from the perspective of research ethics in a way that presents an individual's merits as comprehensively, truthfully and as comparably as possible.

More information:

List of publications

The complete list of publications must include the following information:

  • Applicant’s name, list date
  • Published works and works accepted for publication listed according to classification of Ministry of Education, Science and Culture.

A Peer-reviewed scientific articles
B Non-refereed scientific articles
C Scientific books (monographs)
D Publications intended for professional communities
E Publications intended for the general public, linked to the applicant’s research
F Public artistic and design activities
G Theses
H Patents and invention disclosures
I Audiovisual material, ICT software

More information: Academy of Finland.

Impact indicators for a researcher

A citation database usually includes the information on the researcher's:

  • total number of publications found,
  • total number of citations received by publications (also without self-citations),
  • average citation count of publications (WoS only),
  • h-index (Hirsch index)

N.B.!

  • A single citation database does not usually contain all publications of a researcher.
  • Using the publication list provides more accurate search result, but the search will take time. There may be differences in the names of publications between a list of publications and the databases.
  • Author's last name search: name changes and different spellings are possible, so different options for connecting names must be tried (e.g. Yli-Koski), in the context of names containing Scandinavian characters (å, ä, ö), prefixed names (van, de, der, etc.), or transliterated names.
  • Information from old publications is sometimes incomplete (from the researcher's first name only initial, no affiliation, etc.).
  • The automatics of databases can erroneously combine publications by different authors for the same Author set, or fail to combine publications by the same author.

Read more:

H-index

What is a h-index?

The h-index is an indicator used in academic publishing to measure the publishing activity of researchers and their scientific influence. It is determined by both the number of the researcher's publications and the number of the citations received by the publications.

H-index = number of publications (h) referenced to ≥ h.

  • The researcher's h-index is 10 if he/she has published at least 10 articles, which are referred to at least 10 times.
  • In practice you can have your h-index from the citation databases, you don’t have to count it.

How can I find out my h-index?

The researcher's h-index can be searched from the Scopus and Web of Science databases and from Google Scholar. Citations from Google Scholar can be analyzed with the free Publish and Perish program.

The h-index differs in different databases because of the content of the databases differs. Every database counts the h-index based on its publication coverage and therefore you must choose the database that is suitable for the discipline in question.

For analyzing h-index all the researcher’s publications found in the database are needed. Therefore, an up-to-date list of publications by a researcher is always required for a reliable determination of the h-index.

Researcher profile of the Google Scholar counts also non-scientific publications e.g. thesis. There might also be duplicates because of the self-archiving. Therefore h-index from the Google Scholar differs significantly from the values which are obtained from Scopus or Web of Science.

Typical for h-index

  • The higher the h-index score the more the researcher in question has received citations from their publications.
  • The h-index prefers researchers with longer career, its score doesn’t diminish.
  • You can compare researchers h-index if they work in the same field.
  • The h-index doesn’t take account the number of the writers in the papers. It means that the h-index prefers fields which have large research teams and researchers has lots of publications.
  • The h-index doesn’t classify the value of the citations nor the context of the citations.
  • The h-index may give undue weight to publications that are highly cited, although they may be central to the researcher's impact.

(Adapted from the guide of Oulu University Library)

 

Quick guides to h-index

Citation databases

Tutorials