Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: Journals

Finding journals

If you are looking for a particular journal:

  1. Go to Andor's e-journal list
  2. Contact the Library's acquisitions service

Andor journal search

Search Andor for journals

International journals

https://secure.syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=/mc.gif&issn=0953-5233&client=360linkuxzytvz

Gender & History

Available from 1997

(JUFO level 3)

https://secure.syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=/mc.gif&issn=0346-8755&client=360linkuxzytvz

Scandinavian Journal of History

Available from 1998

(JUFO level 3)

Printed journals

Printed journals are catalogued in the Andor database.

Journals cannot be checked out, but you can scan them or take copies in the Library.

Newspapers

The Library has an ongoing subscription to several Finnish newspapers and a few foreign newspapers (Frankfurter Allgemeine and The Financial Times). Foreign newspapers are available in Linna (city centre campus).

Read more about our newspaper collections from our website. 

Digital archives (in Finnish)

How to evaluate journals?

Compare the Publication Forum (JUFO) levels - Browse the ratings 

The Publication Forum (Julkaisufoorumi, JUFO) is a qualitative classification of scientific journals, publication series and book publishers in all scientific fields. The rating has three levels: 1 = basic; 2 = leading; 3 = top. See the classification criteria.

Get acquainted with Impact Factors (IF) - Visit the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) database

Impact Factor (IF) is an average number of citations received by an article in a given journal. Journal Citation Reports (JCR) database includes IFs for 2 and 5 year periods. Read more about research evaluation.

Is the specific journal peer-reviewed? - See Ulrichsweb

Ulrichsweb Serials Directory includes information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials). The icon of a referee's shirt  indicates that the journal is peer-reviewed.

Tampere in 1830