Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

E-book guide: Visible Body

Visible Body

Collection and link Visible Body
Content

There are four Visible Body databases available at Tampere University Library. Human Anatomy AtlasMuscle PremiumAnatomy & Physiology and Physiology & Pathology are interactive 3D learning tools and anatomy databases planned for university purposes.

How to find the service

Visible Body can be found in the database list. There are applications available for IOS and Android mobile devices. Please check the instructions below.

Number of simultaneous users Unlimited.
Downloading to a computer
  • Search Visible Body in the database list. If you are off campus, log in with your Tuni account.
  • Select Launch Web Player. If your computer doesn’t have Unity Web Player 4.3+, follow the installing instructions. There are Web GL versions available as well. These versions don’t require Unity Web Player 4.3+, but they are slower to download and use than the Web Player versions.
  • Wait for the software to download, this may take a few minutes.
  • Visible Body demands a computer with an efficient processor to function properly. Please check the minimum requirements in Visible Body Help Center. Downloading needs to be done every time you open the database.

Downloading to a mobile device

Installing application when on campus

  • Sign into Eduroam wireless network.
  • Go to http://ovid.visiblebody.com/mobile/ or use the QR code below. Download the application.
  • In case you get a message "There are no applications available for this institution", your device isn't connected to Eduroam. Sign into Eduroam again.
  • The application needs to be used at least once every five months in order to stay active. In case it expires, remove the application and download again.

Downloading application when off campus:

  • Go to the Visible Body mobile site using this link.
  • Select Off Campus.
  • Select the application.
  • Enter your tuni email address and you will receive a verification code in your email.
  • Enter the verification code and you will see your username and password. They are also sent to your email.
  • Download the application.
  • Sign in by using your username and password.

QR code to the applications:

QR code

Printing and terms of use

Using up to five images to non-commercial purposes is allowed with restricted terms. The origin of the image has to be mentioned and the Visible Body logo must be portrayed. Please check the permissions here.

  • User guides
More information

Please note that if you want to use Visible Body with your laptop, you must use the database version, not the mobile application.

New in Visible Body

Now you can download the mobile application when off campus. Read more in "Downloading to a mobile device".

A new app Physiology & Pathology has been purchased to Visible Body. It is an interactive guide to core processes and common diseases of the human body. You can for example compare 3D models of normal anatomy to models of common diseases and conditions or watch animations that present the physiological processes. Physiology & Pathology covers 48 physiology topics and 57 conditions, with 50 lessons, more than 5,800 3D models, 38 animations, 16 illustrations, and 26 quizzes.